Skip to main content

Research & Creative Productions

The research, scholarship, and other creative activities of our teacher-scholars form the cornerstone of the intellectual life of the University.  MSU and the Office of Research and Sponsored Programs are committed to providing the resources and infrastructure necessary to develop, maintain, and grow the scholarly potential and accomplishments of our faculty, staff, and students.
For faculty, we offer several internally funded grant opportunities including Faculty Research GrantsFaculty Creative Production Grants, and Faculty Summer Fellowships.  With certain restrictions, all tenured and tenure-track faculty (including Pac-34 instructors) and professional librarians may apply for these funds.  Proposals are recommended for funding after review by the MSU Research and Creative Productions Committee (RCPC).
In addition to these grant opportunities, the RCPC also evaluates nomination portfolios and recommends recipients for the annual MSU Distinguished Researcher Award and Distinguished Creative Production Award.  These prestigious awards are presented annually at the Opening Faculty/Staff Convocation for the Fall semester.
Sponsored by the Office of Research and Sponsored Programs, the RCPC also oversees the MSU Annual Report of Research and Creative Productions and hosts the Annual Scholars Luncheon.
For information about Faculty Research and Creative Productions, contact Brenda DeHart at 606-783-9399.

RCPC Members

College of Business and Technology
Jonathan Pidluzny, Assistant Professor of Government, 606-783-9437
Michael Hail, Professor of Government, Assistant Dean, Econ Dev, 606-783-5407

Professional Librarian
Dieter Ullrich, Head, Special Collections and Archives, 606-783-5122
College of Education
Chris Beckham, Assistant Professor of Education, 606-783-2538
Beverly Klecker, Professor of Education, 606-783-2536
Caudill College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences
Lori Baruth, Associate Professor of Music, 606-783-2490
College of Science
Mark Blankenbuehler, Associate Professor of Chemistry, 606-783-2915
Shari Kidwell, Associate Professor of Psychology, 606-783-2984

Office of Research and Sponsored Programs
Michael Henson, Chair

2016-2017 Academic Year RCPC Deadlines

  • RCPC Fall Grant Proposals: Due October 9, 2017
  • RCPC Summer Fellowship Proposals: Due November 6, 2017
  • Nominations for Distinguished Awards: Due December 11, 2017
  • RCPC Entries for Annual Report: Due February 1, 2018
  • Portfolios for Distinguished Awards: Due March 5, 2018

photo: Dr. Janelle Hare

Dr. Janelle Hare
Recipient of the 2016 Distinguished Researcher Award

  • Morehead (Residential Campus)
    150 University Blvd., Morehead, KY 40351
  • Admissions
    121 E. Second St., Morehead, KY 40351
  • MSU at Ashland
    1400 College Drive, Ashland, KY 41101
  • MSU at Mt. Sterling
    3400 Indian Mound Drive, Mt. Sterling, KY 40353
  • MSU at Prestonsburg
    6 Bert Combs Drive, Prestonsburg, KY 41653
Major In You.