Skip to main content

Faculty Promotion Committee

Termination Date: Standing Committee, last revision April 1994.

Purpose: To review, at the University level, faculty credentials applicable to the awarding of promotion according to PAc-2 and the granting of emeritus status according to PAc-3.

Membership: Voting membership of the committee shall consist of one faculty member from each college and five additional at large faculty members, selected by the Faculty Senate from the tenured, full time faculty. Membership shall include both males and females. No two representatives from the same department shall serve on the committee at any one time. Committee members shall be full professors. In the event that full professors are unavailable, associate professors may serve. Term of service shall be three years, with one-third being replaced each year. A member may not hold successive terms. Members shall be selected by the Faculty Senate by May 1 of the prior academic year. No person shall serve on the University Promotion, Tenure, or Faculty Rights & Responsibilities Committees at the same time, or on the Department, College, and University Promotion Committees at the same time.

Duties and Responsibilities:

  • To conduct the University level faculty review of the portfolios of candidates for academic promotion.
  • To conduct the university level review for the granting of emeritus status for faculty.
  • To review the University's academic promotion policy and to recommend changes.
  • The Committee shall operate in accordance with procedures outlined in PAc-2 and PAc-3.

Officers: Chair, Vice Chair, and Secretary to be selected by the committee from the membership.

Frequency of Meetings: As required. Promotion review at the University level is normally conducted in the Spring semester.

Reporting Channels: Recommendatory to the Provost. Recommended changes in policies and procedures shall be reported to the Faculty Senate.

Minutes and Proposals Copied to: The Library, Faculty Senate, Student Government Association, and Staff Congress. (Published minutes should protect the confidentiality of faculty.)

Support Services: Office of the Provost.




The procedure for resignation from a University Standing Committee is written notification to the University Standing Committee chairperson, Faculty Senate secretary, and the faculty member’s Department Chair. In the absence of a University Standing Committee Chairperson, the notification may be sent to the Faculty Senate secretary and the faculty member’s Department Chair.

Name Representing Term Ending
Teresa Howell, Chair At-Large 2015 - 18
Nathan Coker At-Large 2017 - 20
Beverly Klecker At-Large 2015 - 18
VACANT At-Large 2017 - 20 
Stacy Baker At-Large 2017 - 20
Sam Nataraj CBT 2016 - 19
Mee-Ryong Shon COE 2016 - 19
Layne Neeper CCAHSS 2015 - 18
Lynn Haller COS 2016 - 19

All 1 year terms end August 15 of each fiscal year.

  • Morehead (Residential Campus)
    150 University Blvd., Morehead, KY 40351
  • MSU at Ashland
    1400 College Drive, Ashland, KY 41101
  • MSU at Mt. Sterling
    3400 Indian Mound Drive, Mt. Sterling, KY 40353
  • MSU at Prestonsburg
    6 Bert Combs Drive, Prestonsburg, KY 41653
  • MSU at West Liberty
    155 University Drive, West Liberty, KY 41472
Major In You.