Skip to main content

Intercollegiate Athletics

Termination Date: Standing Committee, last revision February 8, 2008.

Purpose: To serve as an advisory board on matters pertaining to University Intercollegiate Athletics.

Membership: Membership on the committee shall conform to regulations set forth by NCAA Guidelines which specify that a majority of voting members must be faculty and/or administrators with faculty rank. Voting members shall consist of four faculty (one per college) selected by the Faculty Senate (at least fifty percent must be from protected classes with at least two women), two students selected by the Student Government Association (one male, one female, one of whom is President of the Student-Athlete Advisory Council), one staff member selected by the Staff Congress,  an administrator with academic rank from Academic Affairs as appointed by the Provost and a staff member or administrator appointed by the President. The Faculty Athletics Representative, Director of Athletics, the Senior Woman Administrator from athletics, the Vice President for University Advancement, and the Vice President for Student Life or his/her designee, shall serve as nonvoting ex officio members. Term of service for faculty and staff members shall be three years with at least one of the members (exclusive of the Faculty Athletic Representative) being replaced each year. The term of service for students shall be one year. Members may serve no more than two terms in sequence.

Duties & Responsibilities:

  • To advise the President and make recommendations on policies and procedures related to the following:
  • Review of the implementation of University policies established on intercollegiate athletics.
  • Change in NCAA divisional status.
  • Determination of conference participation.
  • Addition or discontinuance of intercollegiate sports.
  • Facility needs for intercollegiate athletics.
  • Selection of the Director of Athletics and full time head intercollegiate coaches.
  • Practices in intercollegiate athletics which directly affect the academic progress of student athletics.

Officers: A Chair and Chair-elect selected by the committee from the voting members; The Chair-elect shall be selected from eligible members who are in the first or second year of their term, will preside in the absence of the Chair, and will become Chair in the academic year following selection as Chair-elect; a Secretary to be selected by the committee from the entire membership.

Frequency of Meetings: At least twice a semester.

Reporting Channels: Recommendatory to the President. Recommended changes in policies and procedures shall be reported to the Faculty Senate and Staff Congress.

Minutes & Proposals Copied to: The Library, Faculty Senate, Student Government Association, and Staff Congress.

Support Services: Office of the Director of Athletics.




The procedure for resignation from a University Standing Committee is written notification to the University Standing Committee chairperson, Faculty Senate secretary, and the faculty member’s Department Chair. In the absence of a University Standing Committee Chairperson, the notification may be sent to the Faculty Senate secretary and the faculty member’s Department Chair.

Name Representing Term Ending
Randy McCoy CBT 2016 - 19
Jeannie Justice COE 2016 - 19
Glen Colburn (Chair) CCAHSS 2016 - 19
Vivian Cyrus COS 2017 - 19
Alan Rucker Staff 2015 - 18
Josh Grogan Student, Male 1 year term
Elise Alaan Student, Female 1 year term
Russ Mast VP Student Success Position Filled nonvoting
Brian Hutchinson Athletic Director Position Filled nonvoting - Chair
Stephanie Barker Senior Woman Admin 1 year term - nonvoting
Darrin DeMoss Faculty Athletic Rep. 1 year term - nonvoting
Greg Russell Academic Affairs Rep. 1 year term
Jami Hornbuckle VP University Affairs/ designee Position Filled - nonvoting
Caroline Atkins President's Appointee 1 year term

All 1 year terms end August 15 of each fiscal year.

  • Morehead (Residential Campus)
    150 University Blvd., Morehead, KY 40351
  • Admissions
    121 E. Second St., Morehead, KY 40351
  • Financial Aid
    121 E. Second St., Morehead, KY 40351
  • Accounting & Financial Services (Student Billing)
    207 Howell-McDowell, Morehead, KY 40351
  • Registrar
    201 Ginger Hall, Morehead, KY 40351
Major In You.