Skip to main content

Registration Advisory Committee

Termination Date: Advisory committee, last revision April 1994, January 2013.

Purpose: To make recommendations regarding registration processes and procedures as well as develop academic calendars for cabinet approval.

Membership: Voting membership of the committee shall consist of the Registrar, one faculty member actively involved in academic advising from each college as selected by the Faculty Senate (Faculty Senators shall not hold a To review, evaluate and propose procedures related to the pre-registration, registration and drop/add processes.

  • To review and recommend proposed academic calendars on an annual basis including a tentative calendar for one year beyond the next fiscal year.

Officers: Chair - Registrar who shall vote only in the case of a tie; a Vice-Chair and a Secretary to be selected by the committee from the membership majority of faculty membership on the committee), one student from each college as selected by the Student Government Association, one representative from Information Technology with responsibilities in computing services appointed by the Vice President for Administration and Fiscal Services, one representative from the Academic Advising & Retention unit located within College Readiness as appointed by the Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs/Programs, the Director of Accounting and Financial Services, a Department Chair appointed by the Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs/Programs, the Director of Financial Aid, a representative for Graduate Programs selected by the Dean of the Graduate School, and an extended campus center Director selected by the Associated Vice President for Academic Affairs/Programs. The Chair of the Faculty Senate or a designee from the Senate shall serve as a nonvoting ex officio member. Faculty members shall serve two year terms with one half being replaced each year. Student members and the department chair shall serve a one year term.  A representative from Athletics and a representative from Human Resources, each appointed by the head of their respective unit, shall serve as non-voting members.  A representative from the Office of the Provost appointed by the Provost shall serve as a non-voting member.

Frequency of the Meetings: As required.

Reporting Channels: Advisory to the Registrar. Recommended changes in policies and procedures shall be reported to the Faculty Senate and Staff Congress.

Minutes and Proposals Copied to: The University Archives in the Library, Faculty Senate, Student Government Association, Staff Congress, Dean of the Graduate School, Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs/Programs, Vice President for Student Life, Vice President for Administration and Fiscal Services, and the Provost.

Support Services: Office of the Registrar.




The procedure for resignation from a University Standing Committee is written notification to the University Standing Committee chairperson, Faculty Senate secretary, and the faculty member’s Department Chair. In the absence of a University Standing Committee Chairperson, the notification may be sent to the Faculty Senate secretary and the faculty member’s Department Chair.

Name Representing Term Ending
Brent Rogers COS 2016 - 18
Constance Hardesty CCAHSS 2016 - 18
Delar Singh COE 2017 - 19
Johnathan Nelson CBT 2017 - 19
  Student (BUS) 1 year term
  Student (HUM) 1 year term
  Student (S&T) 1 year term
  Student (EDU) 1 year term
Deborah Ross Registrar Position Filled
Alvin Madden-Grider  Rep. Academic Advising & Retention Position Filled
Kelli Owen Dir. Accounting & Financial Services Position Filled
  Department Chair 1 year term 
Denise Trusty Dir. Financial Aid Position Filled
Gera Jones Rep. Graduate Programs Position Filled
Jon Windell Rep. Athletics Non-voting member
Suzanne Hogge Rep. Human Resources Non-voting member
Clarenda Phillips Rep. Office of Provost Non-voting member
Sue Tallichet Chair, Faculty Senate Position Filled

All 1 year terms end August 15 of each fiscal year.

  • Morehead (Residential Campus)
    150 University Blvd., Morehead, KY 40351
  • Admissions
    121 E. Second St., Morehead, KY 40351
  • MSU at Ashland
    1400 College Drive, Ashland, KY 41101
  • MSU at Mt. Sterling
    3400 Indian Mound Drive, Mt. Sterling, KY 40353
  • MSU at Prestonsburg
    6 Bert Combs Drive, Prestonsburg, KY 41653
Major In You.