Skip to main content

Service Committee

Termination Date: Standing Committee, established May 1991, revised April 1994.

Purpose: To recognize and reward service by evaluating applications for, and recommending selection of outstanding recipients for the Distinguished Faculty Service Award (DFSA) and the Distinguished Staff Service Award (DSSA).

Membership: Membership shall consist of four faculty members, one from each college, and one professional librarian selected by the Faculty Senate (At least one faculty member shall be a Faculty Senator, but Faculty Senators should not hold a majority of faculty membership on the committee.); with terms for two years staggered so that two members are elected each year; six staff members, one from each EEO job classification category, selected by the Staff Congress, with terms for two years staggered so that three members are elected each year; one academic department chair selected by the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs; one representative of the Student Government Association, selected by the SGA annually; and the two most recent recipients of both the Distinguished Faculty Service Award who are active faculty and the Distinguished Staff Service Award. Should a faculty member of the committee be nominated for "Distinguished Faculty Service Award" that faculty member should be replaced by an alternate named by the Faculty Senate.

Duties & Responsibilities:

  • To promote and recognize quality service to the University, community, region, nation and world.
  • To solicit, review and make recommendations on nominations for the Distinguished Faculty Service Award (DFSA) and the Distinguished Staff Service Award (DSSA).

Officers: Chair, a Vice Chair, and a Secretary to be selected by the committee from the membership.

Frequency of Meetings: Minimum of twice a semester.

Reporting Channels: Recommendatory to the President.

Minutes and Proposals Copied to: The Library, Faculty Senate, Student Government Association and Staff Congress. (Published minutes should protect the confidentiality of nominees.)

Support Services: Office of the President.




The procedure for resignation from a University Standing Committee is written notification to the University Standing Committee chairperson, Faculty Senate secretary, and the faculty member’s Department Chair. In the absence of a University Standing Committee Chairperson, the notification may be sent to the Faculty Senate secretary and the faculty member’s Department Chair.

Name Representing Term Ending
Krista Utterback Chair 2016-18
Anthony Dotson COS 2016-18
Amber Hughes COE 2016-18
Mark Graves CCAHSS 2017-19
Chien-Chih Peng CBT 2017-19
Ophelia Chapman Sec/Clerical 2016-18
Vacant Skilled Crafts 2016-18
Vacant Serv/Maint 2016-18
Vacant Department Chair 2016-18
Vacant SGA Rep. 1 year term
Jason Griffith Prof. Librarian 2017-19
Tim Hare Distinguished Faculty Position Filled
Matt Collinsworth Distinguished Staff Position Filled

All 1 year terms end August 15 of each fiscal year.

  • Morehead (Residential Campus)
    150 University Blvd., Morehead, KY 40351
  • Admissions
    121 E. Second St., Morehead, KY 40351
  • MSU at Ashland
    1400 College Drive, Ashland, KY 41101
  • MSU at Mt. Sterling
    3400 Indian Mound Drive, Mt. Sterling, KY 40353
  • MSU at Prestonsburg
    6 Bert Combs Drive, Prestonsburg, KY 41653
Major In You.