Skip to main content

Undergraduate Curriculum Committee

Termination Date: Standing committee, last revision April 2011.

Purpose: To examine and evaluate all undergraduate curricular offerings with the exception of general education offerings and to review and recommend policies and regulations pertaining to the undergraduate curriculum for the purpose of initiating improvements and maintaining high academic quality.


Voting membership of the Undergraduate Curriculum Committee shall consist of two faculty members from each college selected by the Faculty Senate (At least one faculty member shall be a Faculty Senator, but Faculty Senators should not hold a majority of faculty membership on the committee.), two student members selected by the Student Government Association, the Registrar (ex officio, non-voting), the Dean of Library Services or his/her designee and the Associate Vice President Undergraduate Education and Student Success. The faculty members shall serve two year terms with one member of each college being replaced each year. The student members shall serve one-year terms.

Duties & Responsibilities:

  • To examine and evaluate the undergraduate academic programs of the University for necessary revisions and to initiate suggestions for study or action by the colleges and/or departments.
  • To receive and review proposals for new curricular programs, new majors, minors, course sequences, courses, and changes in course offerings which have been approved by the appropriate college curriculum committee and dean.
  • To coordinate and promote the activities of the college curriculum committees.
  • To review and recommend policies, standards, and regulations pertaining to undergraduate academic programs and admissions.

Officers: Chair - the Associate Vice President Undergraduate Education and Student Success who shall vote only in case of a tie; and a Vice Chair elected by the committee.

Frequency of Meetings:  Twice monthly when there are curricular proposals ready for review.

Reporting Channels: Recommendatory to the Provost. Recommended changes in policies and procedures shall be reported to the Faculty Senate.

Minutes & Proposals Copied to: The University Archives in the Library, Faculty Senate, Student Government Association, Staff Congress, the Registrar, and the Vice President for Student Life.

Support Services: Office of the Associate Vice President of Academic Affairs/Programs shall provide administrative support.




The procedure for resignation from a University Standing Committee is written notification to the University Standing Committee chairperson, Faculty Senate secretary, and the faculty member’s Department Chair. In the absence of a University Standing Committee Chairperson, the notification may be sent to the Faculty Senate secretary and the faculty member’s Department Chair.

Name Representing  Term Ending  
Michael Hypes At-Large - CBT 2016 - 18  
Alana Scott At-Large - CCAHSS 2016 - 18  
Kimberely Nettleton At-large - COE 2016 - 18  
Flint Harrelson At-large - COS 2016 - 18  
  Student 1 year term  
  Student 1 year term  
Debbie Ross Registrar Ex officio  
Laurie Couch Associate Vice President Undergraduate Education and Student Success Chair  
Tom Kmetz         Dean of Libraries or Designee Position Filled  
Julia Finch CCAHS 2017 - 19  
Julia Hypes CBT 2017 - 19  
Shane Shope COE 2017 - 19  
Tim Thornberry COS 2017 - 19  

All 1 year terms end August 15 of each fiscal year.

  • Morehead (Residential Campus)
    150 University Blvd., Morehead, KY 40351
  • MSU at Ashland
    1400 College Drive, Ashland, KY 41101
  • MSU at Mt. Sterling
    3400 Indian Mound Drive, Mt. Sterling, KY 40353
  • MSU at Prestonsburg
    6 Bert Combs Drive, Prestonsburg, KY 41653
  • MSU at West Liberty
    155 University Drive, West Liberty, KY 41472
Major In You.