Print Logo
MSU Home :: News :: MSU and AAUW host space camp

MSU and AAUW host space camp

  • SSC 2014 summer camp 7-14
    Front row from left, Autumn Holley, Ashland; Sara Franklin, Denniston; Chelsea Pruett, Morehead; 
    Brooke Monroe, Ashland; Trulee Gilkison, Lawrenceburg; second row, Helen Ross, Ft. Thomas;
    Jasarae McKinney, Wellington; and Cassie Bailey, Ashland; third row, Danielle Cottrell, Harrodsburg;
    Caleigh Lawson, Morehead; and Ruth Hughes, Harrodsburg; fourth row, Molly Simpson, Morehead,
    Samantha Timmers, Edgewood; Jade Curless, Lexington; and Honor Hare, Morehead.

Morehead State University's Space Science Center, in partnership with the American Association of University Women (AAUW), offered SpaceTrek, an immersive one-week camp for girls entering their sophomore, junior or senior year of high school July 12-19 at the MSU Space Science Center.

 (View photo gallery )

The event was designed for girls interested in science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) and would like to learn more about space and engineering through hands-on activities under the guidance of faculty and staff from the Space Science Center and high school instructors in the field.  Working as a team, their mission was to build a small satellite, attach it to a large helium balloon launched from the roof, collect and interpret data and draw conclusions. Their mission results were presented to the SpaceTrek team.

Participants and high school represented were:

Trulee Gilkison, Anderson County; Cassidy Bailey, Autumn Holley, Kristin Monroe, Boyd County; Danielle Cottrell, Burgin; Ruth Hughes, Danville; Jade Curless, Henry Clay; Helen Ross, Highlands; Sara Franklin, Menifee County; Honor Hare, Brandi Kelsey, Caleigh Lawson, Jasarae McKinney, Chelsea Pruett, Molly Simpson, Rowan County; and Samantha Timmers, Scott.

Jennifer Carter, SpaceTrek Curriculum director and former high school physics and astronomy teacher from Rowan County Senior High School, along with Lana Swartz from Menifee County High School, and Sherry Ison, a graduate from MSU,  served as instructors during the camp.

Female mentors were a large facet of the camp.  One of the objectives was to instill confidence and a "can do" attitude.

AAUW members participated in the non-curriculum based activities as volunteers.

SpaceTrek was spearheaded by AAUW Kentucky.  Kim Boggs and Michele McNeil, co-directors of AAUW SpaceTrek, recruit, fundraise and organize the camp. Robert Twiggs, world-famous satellite engineer and inventor, Dr. Ben Malphrus, chair of MSU's Department of Earth and Space Science, and engineers from the Space Science Center were involved in the workshop activities.

The SpaceTrek program is funded by a NASA KY mini-grant, MSU's Center for Regional Engagement, Office of Advancement, Office of Research and Sponsored Programs, College of Science and Technology, AAUW Community Action Grant and donations from AAUW and community members.

Additional information may be obtained by contacting the Space Science Center at 606-783-2381 or visiting the SpaceTrek website at .

© Copyright 2014 Morehead State University - 150 University Blvd. Morehead, KY 40351 • 1.800.585.6781
MSU is an affirmative action, equal opportunity, educational institution.