Nominations sought for Distinguished Teacher Award

Nominations are now being accepted for Morehead State University’s 2018-19 Distinguished Teacher Award.

The MSU Alumni Association established this award in 1964. The award originally recognized a classroom teacher who challenged and stimulated students in their academic pursuit.

The Office of the Provost sponsors the award today. The award recognizes a tenured faculty member, whose primary responsibility is teaching, for outstanding instruction in face-to-face, online and/or hybrid learning environments.

The Excellence in Teaching Committee reviews the nominations. The committee recommends an award recipient to the provost after observing the nominees’ classes and reviewing their teaching portfolios. Previous recipients of the award are not eligible.

The University will announce the recipient of the 2018 Distinguished Teacher Award at Fall Convocation in Aug. 2018. Faculty members can only receive the award one time.

Additional information and the nomination form are available at the nomination webpage.

Submit the completed nomination form by Monday, Oct. 23, at 11:59 p.m. via email to

  • Morehead (Residential Campus)
    150 University Blvd., Morehead, KY 40351
  • MSU at Ashland
    1400 College Drive, Ashland, KY 41101
  • MSU at Mt. Sterling
    3400 Indian Mound Drive, Mt. Sterling, KY 40353
  • MSU at Prestonsburg
    6 Bert Combs Drive, Prestonsburg, KY 41653
  • MSU at West Liberty
    155 University Drive, West Liberty, KY 41472
Major In You.