Print Logo
  • Honors - classroom

    Honors program

  • Honors - about you

    Honors Program

  • Honors - opportunity

    Honors Program

MSU Home :: Academics :: Interdisciplinary and International Studies :: Student Highlights



Julie Morris has had many accomplishments in the past year that makes us proud here in the Honors Program. She was 2nd chair flute and piccolo of the Kentucky Intercollegiate Orchestra at the Kentucky Music Educators Association Professional Development Conference held in Louisville in February, 2014. Julie was selected to perform in various Masterclasses, including for Wendell Dobbs, Professor of Flute at Marshall University, in September 2013, and Kathy Karr, Principal Flute of Louisville Symphony Orchestra, in March 2014. She presented at the 3rd Annual Kentucky All-state Flute Day here at Morehead State University in October, 2013. During her term as President of the Sigma Alpha Iota Chapter Fraternity here at Morehead, the chapter was awarded one of the highest awards, "The Katherine Becker National Collegiate Chapter Achievement Award.." Julie also received the "Musicians with Special Needs Scholarship" through Sigma Alpha Iota for the 2013-2014 Fraternity Year. Both of these awards were highly competitive awards among the 120 chapters.     

Kathryn Jackson is  President of the Morehead State University National Association for Music Education.  She is also the President-Elect for the statewide Kentucky Collegiate National Association for Music Education.

Zoe Becerra received the Outstanding Sophomore Psychology Student Award this year.  

Paula Jo Roberts was selected as a Legislative Research Commission Intern for 2014 and will spend the spring semester in Frankfort.
Yen Tran has recently published her work on Obama's Foreign Policy towards China.  You can follow this link Virginia Review to find the article. This is just the latest of many great achievements of Yen; a testament to the types of students MSU's Honors Program attracts. 
Casey Fitzpatrick was recently accepted into the University of Kentucky College of Medicine's Rural Physician Leadership Program for their class of 2018. 

Hannah Webb was  elected president of the Morehead State University Chapter of the Public Relations Student Society of America.

Taylor Gasser will be receiving the 2013-2014 Outstanding Veterinary Science Student Award during the Celebration of Excellence week.

Gloria Yehilevsky received the Paul Siebert Legacy Award.  This award is presented to one veteran member of the Santa Clara Vanguard organization in the percussion section. It is in honor of Paul Siebert (1954-2007) who was a snare drummer for the Santa Clara Vanguard from 1969-1975. He was what many called the "epitome of the center snare," and was a model drum corps member. He had the nickname "crazy glue" because he was able to keep the section together, musically and socially, like crazy glue. Once he aged out of the activity, he was very successful as a scientist, receiving his Ph.D. in Biochemistry from the University of California, Riverside, and worked in the Biotech industry in San Diego and the Silicon Valley. He also co-authored several books and gave seminars all over the world on his work and research. The award is given to a member who shows traits similar to Paul's and shows intelligence on and off the drum corps field, while always showing commitment and passion towards the Vanguard.  Gloria was extremely surprised when she was presented this award and is beyond thankful to have been selected. Her name will also be engraved, along with previous and future recipients of this award, on another plaque permanently on a wall of the Santa Clara Vanguard corps hall in California.









Danielle Myers thumbnail

Danielle was accepted into the Summer Medical and Dental Educational Program.  She is attending the School of Medicine at the University of Virginia. Danielle is very proud that she was accepted into such a prestigious program that allows her to study and live for free for six weeks during the summer of 2012.

Danielle Rae Myers
Falmouth, KY



    © Copyright 2014 Morehead State University - 150 University Blvd. Morehead, KY 40351 • 1.800.585.6781
    MSU is an affirmative action, equal opportunity, educational institution.