Skip to main content

MSU Milestones


  • The Golding-Yang Art Gallery was named and dedicated in the Claypool-Young Art Building.


  • Dr. Jay Morgan became MSU's 14th president.


  • Wayne D. and Susan H. Andrews Hall opened. Named for MSU President Wayne Andrews and First Lady Sue Andrews, the hall houses 550 residents and features suite style rooms, student and study meeting areas and Wi-Fi connectivity throughout. The hall was built on the site of the former Regents and Wilson Halls.
  • MSU is ranked for the 13th consecutive year as one of the top public universities in the South by U.S. News & World Report.
  • Ground is broken on the ADUC renovation project and parking garage/dining facility. The parking garage is opened for use.
  • New residence halls, Lundergan and Padula Halls, are opened at the Derrickson Agricultural Complex.
  • President Bill Clinton visits MSU Space Science Center, becoming the first sitting or former U.S. President to come to campus.
  • MSU’s master’s degree in English was recognized as one of the “Best Online Master’s Degrees” by Affordable Colleges Online.
  • Upward Bound celebrates 50 years at Morehead State.


  • The first class of the Craft Academy for Excellence in Science & Mathematics at Morehead State University is accepted and enrolled. 
  • MSU’s Space Science Center is ranked nationally as one of “The 35 Best College Astronomical Observatories.”
  • The Bachelor of Arts in Legal Studies program is ranked as one of “The 25 Best Bachelor in Legal Studies Degree Programs.”
  • The Innovation Launchpad is opened to offer the counsel, resources, working and meeting space, and other help necessary for entrepreneurs to succeed. 
  • The President’s Performing Arts and Speaker Series is launched with a lecture by Dr. Mayim Bialik, “The Big Bang Theory” star and neuroscientist.


  • MSU welcomes the largest freshmen class in history - more than 1,650.
  • MSU alumnus Steve Kazee wins the Tony Award Sunday night for “Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role in a Musical” for his role in “Once.”  
  • Space science faculty, staff and students delivered a Cosmic X-Ray Background Nanosatellite for launch with NASA.
  • MSU opens Veterans Resource Center in Breckinridge Hall.
  • MSU students, faculty, staff and alumni participated in MSU Cares – disaster relief in Eastern Kentucky counties damaged by tornadoes and strong storms.
  • MSU Board of Regents named the Space Science Center building Smith-Booth Hall in honor of alumni Jim Booth and Elmer Smith.


  • MSU kicks off a yearlong celebration of its 125th anniversary as a public institution: Celebrating hope, promise and opportunity. 
  • MSU reports highest fall enrollment in its history: 10,971. 
  • Recreation & Wellness Center opened; the project was conceived, planned and financed by students. 
  • MSU ranked for the eighth consecutive year as one of the top public universities in the South by U.S. News & World Report. 
  • MSU students have an experiment launched on the Space Shuttle.
  • Kenneth Faried was the 17th Eagle to be drafted in the NBA. He plays for the Denver Nuggets.
  • Chynna Bozeman set the all-time leading scorer record with a career 2,170 points.
  • MSU adds the Browning Orchard as an education and field station for the agricultural sciences program.
  • Rowan County Senior High School student Hannah Mabry became the first student in the Commonwealth of Kentucky to be credited with discovering a pulsar, through an astronomy program at MSU’s Space Science Center.


  • Center for Health, Education and Research (CHER) opened as a result of a partnership between Morehead State University, the University of Kentucky and St. Claire Regional Medical Center. 


  • State-of-the art Space Science Center opened, giving MSU the distinction of being one of a handful of institutions in the nation to offer a degree in space science. 


  • MSU developed and brought online a full motion 21-meter space tracking antenna.


  • Dr. Wayne D. Andrews named 13th president.


  •  MSU reports highest fall enrollment in its history: 9,509.


  • First faculty chair endowed, honoring Dr. C. Louise Caudill.​


  • Morehead State was the first institution in Kentucky to offer a complete degree program online, the Master of Business Administration (MBA).
  • “A Light to the Mountains” published as history of MSU.


  • MSU celebrated 75th anniversary as public institution.


  • MSU at Jackson established.


  • Original campus designated as National Historic District.


  • Dr. Ronald G. Eaglin became 12th president.


  • MSU at Prestonsburg established.


  • Dr. C. Nelson Grote became 11th president. 
  • MSU at Ashland and MSU at West Liberty established.


  • Dr. A.D. Albright became 10th president.


  • Dr. Herb. F. Reinhard became ninth president.


  • MSU Foundation incorporated.


  • MSU at Mt. Sterling established.


  • Dr. Morris L. Norfleet became eighth president.


  • MSU celebrated 50th anniversary as public institution.


  • Name changed to Morehead State University.


  • WMKY became first public radio station in Eastern Kentucky.


  • MSU’s Marshall Banks became the first African-American student-athlete in the OVC.1954 – Dr. Adron Doran named seventh president.


  • MSU became member of NCAA.


  • Dr. Charles Spain appointed sixth president.


  • Name changed to Morehead State College.
  • MSU helped organize Ohio Valley Conference.


  • Dr. William J. Baird became fifth president.


  • U.S. Naval Electrical School based on campus through 1944.


  • Dr. William H. Vaughan named fourth president.


  • Dr. Harvey Babb became third president.


  • Name changed to Morehead State Teachers College.


  • Dr. John Howard Payne named second president.


  • Alumni Association founded.


  • First class graduated (four persons).


  • Name changed to Morehead State Normal School and Teachers College.


  • Morehead State Normal School began classes with Dr. Frank C. Button as president.


  • Morehead Normal School closed. 
  • Gov. Edwin Morrow signed legislative act creating state normal schools in Eastern and Western Kentucky; Morehead selected as eastern site.


  • Morehead Normal School opened as a private, church-supported institution.​

Presidents of Morehead State University

Dr. Joseph A. (Jay) Morgan, 2018-
Dr. Wayne D. Andrews, 2005-2017

Dr. Ronald G. Eaglin, 1992-2004
Dr. C. Nelson Grote, 1987-92
Dr. A.D. Albright, 1986-87
Dr. Herb. F. Reinhard Jr., 1984-86
Dr. Morris L. Norfleet, 1977-84
Dr. Adron Doran, 1954-77
Dr. Charles R. Spain, 1951-54
Dr. William J. Baird, 1946-51
Dr. William H. Vaughan, 1940-46
Dr. Harvey A. Babb, 1935-40
Dr. John Howard Payne, 1929-35
Dr. Frank C. Button, 1923-29

  • Morehead (Residential Campus)
    150 University Blvd., Morehead, KY 40351
  • Admissions
    121 E. Second St., Morehead, KY 40351
  • Financial Aid
    121 E. Second St., Morehead, KY 40351
  • Accounting & Financial Services (Student Billing)
    207 Howell-McDowell, Morehead, KY 40351
  • Registrar
    201 Ginger Hall, Morehead, KY 40351
Major In You.