Skip to main content

Distinguished Teacher Award

The annual Distinguished Teacher Award honors a tenured faculty member at Morehead State University.

Who can be nominated?

Morehead State University faculty members meeting all four criteria:

  1. Primary responsibility is teaching
  2. Teach face-to-face, online and/or hybrid classes
  3. Earned tenure
  4. Not a previous award recipient.


Who can submit a nomination?

MSU students, MSU alumni and MSU colleagues - ANYONE with a professional connection to the nominee.


What is required to submit a nomination?

  1. Complete a brief digital nomination form including:
    1. Name and contact information for the nominee and nominator,
    2. Brief description of the nominator’s relationship to the nominee, and
    3. Brief teaching narrative outlining the nominee’s qualifications for the award.
  2. Next, submit the completed nomination form to Emily Jackson in the Office of the Provost by 11:59 p.m. on Dec. 6, 2021.


What happens after nominations have been submitted?

All nominees receive a letter congratulating them on their nomination. Eligible nominees are invited to compile and submit a teaching portfolio by mid-March. View this PowerPoint for instructions. The Excellence in Teaching Committee reviews the portfolios and observes these nominees’ classes in the spring. The committee recommends an award recipient to the provost in May. The provost formally announces the recipient of the Distinguished Teacher Award at Fall Convocation.


Who are the members of the Excellence in Teaching Committee?

Faculty Senate appoints one faculty member per college and one librarian to this standing committee. The current Distinguished Teacher also participates in the selection of the next award recipient. The director of the Center for Leadership and Professional Development is the chair of the committee by position.

Which current MSU faculty have received this award making them ineligible for nomination?

  • Dr. David Eisenhour, Professor of Biology
  • Dr. Brian S. Mason, Professor of Music
  • Dr. Stacy Baker, Professor of Music
  • Dr. Ric Caric, Professor in International & Interdisciplinary Studies
  • Dr. Geoffrey Gearner, Professor of Biology
  • Dr. William Green, Professor of Government
  • Dr. Sylvia Henneberg, Professor of English
  • Dr. Lloyd Jaisingh, Professor of Mathematics
  • Dr. Layne Neeper, Professor of English
  • Dr. Philip Prater, Professor of Veterinary Technology
  • Dr. Brian Reeder, Professor of Biology
  • Dr. Allen Risk, Professor of Biology
  • Dr. Karen Taylor, Associate Professor of French
  • Dr. Greg Wing, Professor of Music
  • Dr. Itza Zavala-Garrett, Associate Professor of Spanish
  • Dr. Greg Detweiler, Professor of Music
  • Dr. Nilesh Joshi, Professor of Engineering and Technology Management


Who can answer questions about the award and selection process?

Call the Office of the Provost at 606-783-2002 or email Sherry Stultz, chair of the Excellence in Teaching Committee.