Skip Menu
Email Us!

Intercollegiate Athletics Committee

Revision Date: Standing Committee, last revision February 8, 2008, April 18, 2019, November 2023.

Purpose: To serve as an advisory board on matters pertaining to University Intercollegiate Athletics.

Membership: Membership on the committee shall conform to regulations set forth by NCAA Guidelines which specify that a majority of voting members must be faculty and/or administrators with faculty rank. Voting members shall consist of four faculty (one per college) selected by the Faculty Senate (inclusion of protected class when possible with at least 50 percent female), two students selected by the Student Government Association (one male, one female, one of whom is President of the Student-Athlete Advisory Council), one staff member selected by the Staff Congress,  an administrator with academic rank from Academic Affairs as appointed by the Provost and a staff member or administrator appointed by the President. The Faculty Athletics Representative, Director of Athletics, Senior Woman Administrator from athletics, Vice President for University Advancement, and Vice President for Student Affairs or his/her designee, shall serve as nonvoting ex officio members. Term of service for faculty and staff members shall be three years with at least one of the members (exclusive of the Faculty Athletic Representative) being replaced each year. The term of service for students shall be one year. Members may serve no more than two terms in sequence.

Duties & Responsibilities:

  • To advise the President and make recommendations on policies and procedures related to the following:
  • Review of the implementation of University policies established on intercollegiate athletics.
  • Change in NCAA divisional status.
  • Determination of conference participation.
  • Addition or discontinuance of intercollegiate sports.
  • Facility needs for intercollegiate athletics.
  • Selection of the Director of Athletics and full-time head intercollegiate coaches.
  • Practices in intercollegiate athletics which directly affect the academic progress of student athletics.

Officers: A Chair and Chair-elect selected by the committee from the voting members; The Chair-elect shall be selected from eligible members who are in the first or second year of their term, will preside in the absence of the Chair, and will become Chair in the academic year following selection as Chair-elect; a Secretary to be selected by the committee from the entire membership.

Frequency of Meetings: At least once a semester.

Reporting Channels: Recommendatory to the President. Recommended changes in policies and procedures shall be reported to the Faculty Senate and Staff Congress.

Minutes & Proposals Copied to: All minutes and proposals be sent to the Faculty Senate ADS who will forward to the university archivist.

Support Services: Office of the Director of Athletics.


The procedure for resignation from a University Standing Committee is written notification to the University Standing Committee chairperson, Faculty Senate secretary, and the faculty member's Department Chair. In the absence of a University Standing Committee Chairperson, the notification may be sent to the Faculty Senate secretary and the faculty member's Department Chair.

  • Julia Hypes, CBT, 2022-25
  • Christopher Beckham, COE, 2022-25
  • Jason Adkins, HUM 2022-2025
  • Jennifer Birriel, COS 2023-2025
  •  VACANT Staff, 2022-25
  • Student, Male, 1-year term
  • Student, Female, 1-year term
  • Russ Mast, VP Student Success, Position Filled (nonvoting)
  • Kelly Wells, Athletic Director, Position Filled (nonvoting)-Chair
  • Senior Woman Admin, 1-year term (nonvoting)
  • Darrin DeMoss, Faculty Athletic Rep., 1-year term (nonvoting)
  • Dr. Jennifer Deardon, Academic Affairs Rep., 1-year term
  • Rick Hesterberg, VP University Advancement/designee, Position Filled (nonvoting)
  • Taunya Jones, President's Appointee, 1-year term
  • Alan Rucker, Staff as selected by Staff Congress, CHAIR 

* All 1-year terms end Aug. 15 of each fiscal year.

Contact Information

Faculty Senate

Susan Perry, Faculty Senate Secretary
302A Ginger Hall

PHONE: 606-783-2598