Skip Menu
Email Us!

Employee Benefits Committee

Revision Date: Standing Committee, last version in April 2004.

Purpose: To review existing or proposed employee benefit programs and/or plans.

Membership: Voting membership of the committee shall consist of one faculty member from each college and a professional librarian selected by the Faculty Senate, (At least one faculty member shall be a Faculty Senator, but Faculty Senators should not hold a majority of faculty membership on the committee.) the Chair of the Faculty Senate Faculty Welfare and Concerns Committee, two staff members from the secretarial/clerical, technical/paraprofessional, skilled crafts, and/or service maintenance categories, and two other staff members from the executive and/or professional/nonfaculty categories selected by the Staff Congress, the Chair of the Staff congress Personnel Policies and Benefits Committee and the Director of Budgets and Management Information or his/her designee. The nonvoting member shall be the Director of Human Resources. Term of service for those selected staff and faculty shall be four years with one fourth of the members being replaced each year. The Chairs of the Faculty Senate Faculty Welfare and Concerns Committee and the Staff Congress Personnel Policies and Benefits Committee will serve 1 year terms.

Duties & Responsibilities:

  • To periodically review existing or proposed employee benefits programs and/or plans and recommend additions, deletions, or other modifications.
  • To review Office of Human Resources benefits data and benefits market survey materials.
  • To review proposals for servicing employee benefits programs and/or plans.

Officers: A Chair and a chair-elect (who shall serve as chair in absence of the Chair) to be selected by the committee from the membership. The Chair shall have at least one year of experience on the committee prior to beginning a term of service. The chairmanship shall alternate yearly between members who are classified as Faculty and those classified as Staff. The position of Secretary shall be filled by a non-member from the Office of Human Resources.

Frequency of Meetings: As required.

Reporting Channels: Recommendatory to the President through the Vice President for Administration and Fiscal Services. Recommended changes in policies and procedures shall be reported to the Faculty Senate and Staff Congress.

Minutes & Proposals Copied to: The Library, Faculty Senate, Student Government Association, and Staff Congress.

Support Services: Office of Human Resources.


The procedure for resignation from a University Standing Committee is written notification to the University Standing Committee chairperson, Faculty Senate secretary, and the faculty member’s Department Chair. In the absence of a University Standing Committee Chairperson, the notification may be sent to the Faculty Senate secretary and the faculty member’s Department Chair.

  • Tom Kmetz, Chair of FS Faculty Welfare and Concerns, Position Filled
  • Ahmad Hassan, CBT, 2020-2024
  • Jeannie Justice COE, 2023-27
  • Ryan McGillicuddy, CCAHSS, 2021-25 CHAIR
  • Emmalou Schmittzehe, COS, 2022-26
  • Leeann Potter, Chair, SC Per. Benefits, Position Filled
  • Amanda Lewis, Exec/Manag, 2019-23
  • Rick Wagoner, IT, 2020-24, 
  • VACANT, Prof/NF, 2019-23
  • Ian Savard, Sec/Clerical, 2023-27,  Chair-Elect 2024-2025 
  • Jessica Cooper, Director Budgets, Position Filled
  • Caroline Atkins, Human Resources
  • Tom Kmetz, Librarian, 2021-25

*All 1 year terms end Aug. 15 of each fiscal year.

Contact Information

Faculty Senate

Susan Perry, Faculty Senate Secretary
302A Ginger Hall

PHONE: 606-783-2598