Skip Menu
Email Us!

Excellence in Teaching Committee

Revision Date: Standing Committee, last revision January 2015; November 2018, June 2023.  

Purpose: To select the University’s Distinguished Teacher; to recommend policies, activities, and internal grants that enhance teaching. 

Membership: Voting members appointed by the Faculty Senate shall include: (1) one tenured faculty member from each college; (2) one librarian rank III or higher if possible or rank II if necessary; and (3) the most recent recipient of the Distinguished Teacher Award. Of the tenured faculty members, at least one will be a Faculty Senator, but Faculty Senators should not hold a majority of the membership on the committee. The Distinguished Teacher Award recipient will serve for one year and all other members appointed by Faculty Senate will serve two-year terms staggered so one half of the elected faculty are replaced each year. Should a faculty member on the committee be nominated for the Distinguished Teacher Award, that faculty member shall be replaced by an alternate named by the Faculty Senate for the purpose of reviewing nominees for the teaching award. The Director of the Faculty Center for Teaching and Learning will serve for the duration of their position. 

Duties and Responsibilities: 

  • To solicit and evaluate applications for the Distinguished Teacher Award according to the Distinguished Teacher Award Guidelines and recommend a recipient to the Provost. 
  • To review and recommend policies, activities, and internal grants that enhance teaching.  

Officers: Chair and Chair-Elect to serve the following year to be selected from the membership of the committee. Chair-Elect shall serve as committee secretary. 

Frequency of Meetings: Once a month or more frequently if needed. Must have a quorum of at least 2/3 of the committee members. Items to be voted upon require a simple majority of the voting members. 

Reporting Channels: Recommendatory to the Provost. Recommended changes in policies and procedures shall be reported to the Faculty Senate. 

Minutes and Proposals Copied to: The University Archives in the Library, Faculty Senate, Staff Congress, and the Office of the Provost. 

Support Services: Office of the Provost and the Faculty Center for Teaching and Learning. 



The procedure for resignation from a University Standing Committee is written notification to the University Standing Committee chairperson, Faculty Senate secretary, and the faculty member’s Department Chair. In the absence of a University Standing Committee Chairperson, the notification may be sent to the Faculty Senate secretary and the faculty member’s Department Chair. 

  • Euijin Kim CBT 2023-2025
  • Lola Aagaard COE 2022-2024
  • Benjamin Fitzpatrick HUM 2023-2025 CHAIR-ELECT 2024-2025
  • Patricia Harrelson COS 2022-2024 CHAIR
  • Stacy Scott Librarian 2022-2024
  • Bernadette Barton, Distinguished Teacher, 1-year term
  • Alison Hruby, Director, Center for Teaching and Learning

* All 1-year terms end Aug. 15 of each fiscal year 

Contact Information

Faculty Senate

Susan Perry, Faculty Senate Secretary
302A Ginger Hall

PHONE: 606-783-2598