Skip Menu
Email Us!

Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee

Revision Date: Advisory Committee is mandated by the Public Health Service (PHS) Policy on Humane Care and Use of Laboratory Animals. Last revision Nov. 3, 2022.

Morehead State University's Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee (IACUC) is a federally mandated committee made up of faculty, staff and persons unaffiliated with the University charged with ensuring that the institution complies with federal policies safeguarding animals as subjects in research, testing and teaching. All research, teaching and/or testing conducted at MSU involving animal subjects must be reviewed and approved by the IACUC.


  • IRB and IACUC members’ terms are three-year terms
  • Chairs of the IRB and IACUC are elected by the members to serve 1-year terms
  • There are no term limits
  • We desire members to remain on the committees for continuity and expertise – therefore, when a member's term is complete, they are usually asked to serve another term if willing.


Any questions regarding the IACUC, please contact Janet Cline, director of research integrity and compliance, at or Shannon Harr, EdD, director, Office of Research and Sponsored Programs,


  • Amy Staton, Department of Agricultural Sciences 2021-2024 CHAIR 2023-2024
  • David Eisenhour, Department of Biology and Chemistry Vice Chair 2023-2024 2020-2023
  • Pedro de Pedro, Department of Agricultural Sciences (Attending Veterinarian) 2023-2025
  • Greg Corso, Department of Psychology 2023-2026
  • Charla Burchett, Department of Nursing 2022-2025
  • Terry White, Facilities Management 2022-2025
  • Bodie Stevens, Community Representative 2022-2025
  • Amanda Potter, Community Representative 2023-2026

Contact Info

Shannon Harr, Ed.D., Director
Office of Research and Sponsored Programs
901 Ginger Hall
Morehead, KY 40351