Skip Menu
Email Us!

Library Committee

Revision Date: Standing Committee, last revision April 1994.

Purpose: To review and recommend changes in policies and promote use of the University Libraries.

Membership: voting membership of the committee shall consist of one faculty member from each college and two professional librarians selected by the Faculty Senate, (At least one faculty member shall be a Faculty Senator, but Faculty Senators should not hold a majority of faculty membership on the committee.), two undergraduate and two graduate students selected by the Student Government Association, two staff members selected by the Staff Congress, and the Dean of Library Services. Term of service for faculty, librarians, and staff shall be two years with one half from each category being replaced each year. Term of service for students shall be one year.

Duties & Responsibilities:

  • To promote use of the library.
  • To review, evaluate, and propose library policy regarding circulation, purchasing, and other service/programs.
  • To monitor off campus library holdings, facilities, and support services to ensure compliance with University and accreditation standards.

Officers: Chair - Dean of Library Services who shall vote only in case of a tie; a Vice Chair and a Secretary to be selected by the committee from the membership.

Frequency of Meetings: As required.

Reporting Channels: Recommendatory to the Provost. Recommended changes in policies and procedures shall be reported to the Faculty Senate and Staff Congress.

Minutes and Proposals Copied to: The Library, Faculty Senate, Student Government Association, and Staff Congress.

Support Services: Office of the Dean of Library Services.


The procedure for resignation from a University Standing Committee is written notification to the University Standing Committee chairperson, Faculty Senate secretary, and the faculty member’s Department Chair. In the absence of a University Standing Committee Chairperson, the notification may be sent to the Faculty Senate secretary and the faculty member’s Department Chair.

  • David Gregory, Dean of Library Services, Position Filled (Chair)
  • Lucinda Ward, Librarian, 2022-24
  • Rodney Watkins, Librarian 2023-25 
  • Stephen Brigham, CBT, 2023-25 
  • Lee Nabb COE 2022-24
  • Glen Ginn HUM 2023-25
  • James Kevin Adkins, COS, 2022-24
  • Jalei Jimison, Student (U), 1-year term
  • Student, Kylee Atkins (U), 1-year term
  • VACANCY, Student (G), 1-year term
  • VACANCY, Student (G), 1-year term
  • VACANCY, EEO Staff, 2022-24
  • VACANT, EEO Staff, 2021-23

* All 1-year terms end Aug. 15 of each fiscal year.

Contact Information

Faculty Senate

Susan Perry, Faculty Senate Secretary
302A Ginger Hall

PHONE: 606-783-2598