Skip Menu
Email Us!

Planning Committee

Revision Date: Standing Committee, reestablished April 1994. Revised: January 2000, September 2002, August 2003, February 2004, February 2006, and April 2007.

Purpose: To serve as the central review and recommendatory body for the institution's planning process.



  • One Faculty Senator from each college, elected by the body of the Senate
  • One Faculty Representative from each college, elected by the faculty of that College
  • One Professional Librarian, elected by the Professional Librarians
  • Four Staff Representatives, elected by the Staff Congress
  • Student Government Association Executive Vice President
  • One Department Chair, selected by the Department Chairs
  • Institutional SACS Liaison
  • Dean of Graduate & Undergraduate Programs
  • One Representative from each division appointed by the division Vice President:
  • Academic Affairs
  • Administration & Fiscal Services
  • Development
  • Planning, Budgets, & Technology
  • Student Success
  • University Relations


  • Vice President for Planning, Budgets, & Technology
  • Special Assistant to the President for Planning & Continuous Improvement
  • Director of Institutional Effectiveness

Terms of service shall be four-year staggered terms for all administrative representatives, chair, faculty, professional librarian, and staff representatives. The term of service for the Vice President for Planning, Budgets, & Technology, Special Assistant to the President for Planning & Continuous Improvement, Director of Institutional Effectiveness, Institutional SACS Liaison, Dean of Graduate & Undergraduate Programs, and SGA Executive Vice President are automatic for those individuals holding these functional titles. The term of service for faculty senators will be two-year staggered terms.

Duties and Responsibilities:

  • To annually review, update, and report on the University's Strategic Plan and progress toward achieving the Plan's goals and objectives.
  • To annually examine resource allocations for Strategic Budget Initiatives through the analysis of productivity, efficiency, and consistency with the university mission and strategic plan.
  • To annually review trends and provide recommendations regarding the University's current operating budget.
  • To biennially review and provide recommendations regarding projects submitted in the six year capital plan.
  • To annually examine and report on potential mission-related initiatives and/or partnerships.

Officers: A Chair and a Vice Chair or Co-chairs will be elected by the committee from the membership.

Frequency of Meetings: As needed each year.

Reporting Channels: Recommendatory to the President and his/her Cabinet through the Vice President for Planning, Budgets & Technology.

Minutes and Proposals Copied to: Members of the President's Cabinet, Faculty Senate, Dean's, Chair's, Staff Congress, Student Government Association, and the Special Collections and Archives in the Camden-Carroll Library.

Support Services: Office of the Vice President for Planning, Budgets & Technology


The procedure for resignation from a University Standing Committee is written notification to the University Standing Committee chairperson, Faculty Senate secretary, and the faculty member’s Department Chair. In the absence of a University Standing Committee Chairperson, the notification may be sent to the Faculty Senate secretary and the faculty member’s Department Chair. Email the Chair.

  • Ashraf Aly, Faculty Senator-CBT, 2016-18
  • David Long, Faculty Senator-COE, 2017-19
  • Cathy Thomas, Faculty Senator-CCAHSS, 2016-18
  • Jennifer Dearden, Faculty Senator-COS, 2017-19
  • Daryl Privott, COE, 2015-19
  • Glenn Ginn, CCAHSS, 2014-18
  • Mark Blankenbuehler, COS, 2014-18
  • Sam Nataraj, CBT, 2017-21
  • Joe Honsucker, Staff Congress, 2014-18
  • Michelle Hutchinson, Staff Congress, 2014-18
  • Craig Dennis, Staff Congress, 2015-19
  • Michael Henson, Associate Provost for Research & Dean of Graduate Programs, Fixed
  • Matt Collinsworth, Development/University Relations, 2015-19
  • Dieter Ullrich, Library, 2017-21

All 1-year terms end August 15 of each fiscal year.

Contact Information

Faculty Senate

Susan Perry, Faculty Senate Secretary
302A Ginger Hall

PHONE: 606-783-2598