Skip Menu
Email Us!

Undergraduate Curriculum Committee

Revision Date: Standing committee, last revision April 2011.

Purpose: To examine and evaluate all undergraduate curricular offerings with the exception of general education offerings and to review and recommend policies and regulations pertaining to the undergraduate curriculum for the purpose of initiating improvements and maintaining high academic quality.

Membership: Voting membership of the Undergraduate Curriculum Committee shall consist of two faculty members from each college selected by the Faculty Senate (At least one faculty member shall be a Faculty Senator, but Faculty Senators should not hold a majority of faculty membership on the committee.), two student members selected by the Student Government Association, the Registrar (ex officio, non-voting), the Dean of Library Services or his/her designee and the Associate Provost Undergraduate Education and Student Success. The faculty members shall serve two year terms with one member of each college being replaced each year. The student members shall serve one-year terms.

Duties & Responsibilities:

  • To examine and evaluate the undergraduate academic programs of the University for necessary revisions and to initiate suggestions for study or action by the colleges and/or departments.

  • To receive and review proposals for new curricular programs, new majors, minors, course sequences, courses, and changes in course offerings which have been approved by the appropriate college curriculum committee and dean.

  • To coordinate and promote the activities of the college curriculum committees.

  • To review and recommend policies, standards, and regulations pertaining to undergraduate academic programs and admissions.

Officers: Chair - the Associate Provost of Undergraduate Education and Student Success who shall vote only in case of a tie; and a Vice Chair elected by the committee.

Frequency of Meetings:  Twice monthly when there are curricular proposals ready for review.

Reporting Channels: Recommendatory to the Provost. Recommended changes in policies and procedures shall be reported to the Faculty Senate.

Minutes & Proposals Copied to: The University Archives in the Library, Faculty Senate, Student Government Association, Staff Congress, the Registrar, and the Vice President for Student Affairs.

Support Services: Office of the Associate Provost of Undergraduate Education and Student Success shall provide administrative support.


The procedure for resignation from a University Standing Committee is written notification to the University Standing Committee chairperson, Faculty Senate secretary, and the faculty member’s Department Chair. In the absence of a University Standing Committee Chairperson, the notification may be sent to the Faculty Senate secretary and the faculty member’s Department Chair.

  • Heba Elgazzar, at-large, CBT, 2022-24
  • Nettie Brock, at-large, CCAHSS, 2022-24
  • Steve Crites, COE, 2022-24
  • Emmalou Schmittzehe COS 2022-24
  • Brady Lawson, Student, 1-year term    
  • Jadelyn Brewer, Student, 1-year term    
  • Kerry Murphy, Registrar, Ex officio    
  • Chris Schroeder, Interim Associate Provost Undergraduate Education and Student Success, Chair    
  • Pamela Colyer, Dean of Libraries or Designee, Position Filled    
  • Fei Jia, CCAHS, 2023-25  
  • Kouroush Jenab, CBT, 2023-25 
  • David Long, COE, 2023-25
  • Joshua Qualls, COS, 2023-25

* All 1-year terms end Aug. 15 of each fiscal year.

Contact Information

Faculty Senate

Susan Perry, Faculty Senate Secretary
302A Ginger Hall

PHONE: 606-783-2598