Skip Menu

Nominations wanted for Founders Award for University Service

Morehead State University is seeking nominations for its 2017 Founders Award for University Service. The award will be presented as part of Homecoming 2017.

Individuals who have provided extensive service to the University throughout their time as a University employee or volunteer are eligible for nominations.

“We encourage our faculty and staff members, students, alumni and other friends to nominate deserving candidates who have demonstrated superior service to Morehead State University,” said President Wayne D. Andrews.

The Homecoming Banquet will be held on Friday, Oct. 20, and will include the presentation of the Founders Award for University Service and the induction of the Alumni and Athletic Hall of Fame recipients.
“On this special day, we will recognize and honor many of those whose efforts have contributed to making this institution what it is today,” said Dr. Andrews.

Nominations for the 2017 award may be submitted online at or in writing to the Office of Alumni Relations and Development, Morehead State University, 150 University Blvd, Box 1887, Morehead, KY 40351.

Current full-time employees of MSU are not eligible. Nominations must be received by Feb. 1.
The award for University Service was established by MSU’s Board of Regents in 1978.

Recipients have included W. E. Crutcher, 1978; Linus A. Fair, 1979; U.S. Rep. Carl D. Perkins, 1980; Dr. Warren C. Lappin, 1981; Dr. Ted L. Crosthwait, 1982; Monroe Wicker, 1983; Lloyd Cassity, 1984; Grace Crosthwaite, 1985; Boone Logan, 1986; Dr. Rondal Hart, 1987; George T. Young, 1988; John E. Collis, 1989; Dr. Wilhelm Exelbirt, 1990; Dr. R.H. Playforth, 1991; Dr. Mary Northcutt Powell, 1992; Sen. Woody May, 1993; Dr. J.E. Duncan, 1994; Harlen L. Hamm and Sherman R. Arnett, 1995; Dr. Adron Doran, 1996; Robert S. Bishop and K. Martin Huffman, 1997;

Dr. Charles J. Pelfrey, 1998; Carolyn S. Flatt, 1999; Dr. Earl J. Bentley, 2000; Mrs. Mignon M. Doran, 2001; Dr. C. Nelson Grote, 2002; Merl Fair Allen, 2003; Dr. John C. Philley, 2004; Dr. Charles M. Derrickson, 2005; Dr. John R. Duncan, 2006; Steve Hamilton, 2007, Dr. Marshall Banks, 2008; and Dr. Randall Wells, 2009; Dr. Jack D. Ellis, 2010; Ms. Lucille Caudill Little, 2011; Rocky J. Adkins, 2012; Clyde I. James, 2013;Keith R. Kappes, 2014; Carol Johnson and W.H.Rice, 2015; and Myron Doan, 2016.

Additional information is available by calling 606-783-2033 or 800-783-ALUM.