Skip Menu

Spurlock named finalist for Club Coach of the Year award

Spurlock_E.jpgMorehead State University’s Eric Spurlock, head bowling coach of MSU’s collegiate bowling program and manager of MSU’s Wilson Bowling Center, has been nominated for the Club Team Bowling Coaches Association 2017 Randy Widger Men's Club Coach of the Year award.

Other finalists include Shawn Wochner, UW Whitewater; Greg Hatzisavvas, William Paterson University; and Jeremy Fleck, Wright State University.

Voting by member coaches of the Club Teams Bowling Coaches Association is currently underway. 

 “It is an honor to be named a finalist, it’s much more special this year.  We have had to face several obstacles. The biggest for both the boys and myself was them getting used to me as well as my transition from coaching the women’s team to the men’s team.  This team of young men are very special to me.” said Spurlock. “Coach Widger was an outstanding coach and to be recognized by the CTCA for an award named for him is very special to me.”

All four finalists will be recognized with a plaque and the recipient of the Randy Widger Men's Club Coach of the Year Award will be announced on April 8 during the opening ceremonies of the Collegiate Club Championships.

The opening ceremonies will also be streamed live on Bowlstream.TV, the official live stream company of the Collegiate Club Championships.

The Randy Widger Men's Club Coach of the Year award is named after former Western Illinois University coach, Randy Widger.  There are very few coaches who can say that they have won a national title in their first appearance at the Intercollegiate Team Championships, but Widger is one of those few.  In fact, he led his men's team to three national championships in his first four years of coaching (1999, 2001 and 2002). 

During his 10 year stay at WIU, Widger coached five All American's including; Pete Albanese, Clay Herrbach, Shane Keefauver, Derek Sapp and Jeremy Sonnenfeld.  Clay, Derek and Jeremy all spent time on Jr/Team USA. 

According to CTCA, Spurlock was nominated due to his commitment to recruiting, building, coaching and giving so much of your time to your program.

Morehead State men’s squad advanced to the Intercollegiate Team Championships, to be held April 19-22 at Raising Cane’s River Center in Baton Rouge, Louisianan. MSU finished second in the Sectional Qualifier held in Addison, Illinois.

Members of the team are: Jacob Yazell, Lexington senior; Kevin Hindman, Sarver, Pennsylvania, senior; Mark Curtis Jr., Torrance, California, junior; Michael McCubbins, Louisville junior; Mitchell Hehn,   Cincinnati sophomore; Tiler Levesque, Acushnet, Massachusetts, freshman; Cole Meredith, Beavercreek, Ohio, freshman; and Troy White, Carolina Beach, North Carolina, freshman.

Additional information is available by contacting Spurlock at 606-776-3457.