Skip Menu
Email Us!

Celebration of Student Scholarship Scheduled for April 26

MSU will recognize the work of Undergraduate Research Fellows during the 12th Annual Celebration of Student Scholarship on Wednesday, April 26.

The purpose of the Annual MSU Celebration of Student Scholarship is to showcase the outstanding scholarly work of students involved in the Undergraduate Research Fellowship program to the greater campus community. Initiated in the Spring of 2006, the annual celebration has grown into a day-long event of presentations, exhibitions, and performances by students from all colleges, including Business and Technology, Education, Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences, and Science.

At MSU, faculty in all disciplines are engaging students in their professional scholarly endeavors. Based upon these collaborations, students are presenting, exhibiting, and performing at state, regional, and national forums. Last year, 264 students presented 203 scholarly papers, posters, and/or performances mentored by 88 faculty from every department on campus. 

Over the past two decades, the involvement of students in faculty-mentored research, scholarly and creative work has been increasing. Engaging students in faculty-mentored scholarly activities at the undergraduate level has been demonstrated to enhance student intellectual development and better prepare them for graduate study and the job market. 

The schedule of the day's events is as follows:
  • 7:45 AM to 8:30 AM — Registration/continental breakfast (Camden-Carroll Library, 2nd floor); Oral presentations set-up (Camden-Carroll Library); Poster set-up (Button Auditorium, Drill Room)
  • 8:30 AM to 10:15 AM — Oral presentations
  • 10:15 AM to 10:30 AM — Break
  • 10:30 AM to 11:45 AM — Oral presentations
  • 11:45 AM to 12 PM — Break
  • 12 PM to 1:15 PM — Oral presentations
  • 1:15 PM to 3 PM — Poster presentations (Button Drill Room)
  • 3 PM to 4 PM — Reception (Button Drill Room)
  • 4 PM to 4:15 PM — Gallaher Memorial Music Performance (Button Auditorium)
  • 4:15 PM to 5 PM — Awards (Button Auditorium)