Skip Menu
Email Us!

MSPR earns 11 Kentucky Associated Press Awards, Morrill named College Best of Show

Morehead State Public Radio (WMKY, 90.3FM) earned a total of 11 awards in the professional and college divisions Saturday at the annual Kentucky Associated Press Broadcasters (KAPB) awards in Lexington.

The awards were announced for both professional and college contests.

The KAPB awards competition is designed to recognize Kentucky AP members and staffers for outstanding performance in broadcast journalism. The competition is open to all AP members in Kentucky and those outside Kentucky with designated market areas that extend into Kentucky. To be eligible to enter, entries must be about news, features or sports that occurred solely in Kentucky. Entries must have been broadcast in calendar year 2016.

The KAPB college competition is designed to recognize Kentucky student broadcasters for outstanding performance in college broadcast journalism. The contest is open to any college in Kentucky. 

Twenty-five broadcast organizations and five Kentucky colleges and universities submitted 531 entries in the contest, which featured news, sports and weather reporting as well as feature, investigative, public interest reporting, photography, video and website categories.

The AP is a not-for-profit news cooperative representing 1,400 newspapers and 5,000 broadcast stations in the United States.

Morehead State Public Radio (WMKY, 90.3FM) earned a total of 11 awards in the professional and college divisions including four first place, four second place, two third place and College Best of Show.

Professional Radio Division

  • Best Long Public Affairs – Third Place: Dr. Wayne Andrews, Jason Blanton and Paul Hitchcock, Shaping Appalachia: MSU’s Social Work Internship Program
  • Best Sports Reporting – Second Place: Chuck Mraz
  • Best Radio Anchor – Third Place: Dan Conti
  • Best Long Newscast – Second Place: Dan Conti, Arlo Barnette and Samantha Morrill

College Radio Division

  • Best Feature Story – First Place: Samantha Morrill, "Einstein’s Dreams: MSU Theatre Recognition"
  • Best Feature Story – Second Place: Courtney Howell, "PAC Summer Arts Camp”
  • Best Sports Coverage – First Place: Nathan Gutierrez, "Win the Day"
  • Best News Story – First Place: Ashley Chapman, "Fentanyl-Laced Heroin"
  • Best News Story – Second Place: Tanner Boyd, "Former President Bill Clinton at MSU"
  • Best College Newscast – First Place: Samantha Morrill and Arlo Barnette, "Mountain Edition News"
  • College Best of Show Radio: Samantha Morrill, Morehead State University

Serving more than 20 counties throughout eastern Kentucky, Ohio and West Virginia, Morehead State Public Radio (WMKY) broadcasts at 90.3FM from the MSU campus.

Additional information can be found on MSPR’s website at

Pictured above, from left: Paul Hitchcock, Samantha Morrill, Nathan Gutierrez, Ashley Davidson and Courtney Howell.