Skip Menu
Email Us!

Rites of Passage celebrated

Morehead State University’s Office of Student Activities, Inclusion and Leadership Development sponsored its 33rd Rites of Passage recognition ceremony on Friday, May 12, in the Space Science Center.

The purpose of the ceremony is to recognize and celebrate the scholastic achievement of minority and international students at MSU. Each student received a certificate, a gift and a special kente stole.
Spring graduates who participated in the ceremony were:

Zainab Maryam Anwar, Morehead; Adarius Barnett, Bowling Green; Ronnye Beamon Jr., Calumet City, Illinois; Ivan Benitez, Conroe, Texas; Ty'Quan Rashaad Bitting, Winston-Salem, North Carolina; Sydney Symone Boyd, Owingsville; Danielle Nicole Burdette, Richmond; Alexander Callahan, Morehead; Erika Cordle, Ashland; Quinton Cottrell, Shelbyville; Jesus Daniel Carrerra Lopez, Valencia, Columbia; Tyler Dimarco Davis, Cincinnati; Deion Ashley Dornal, Cincinnati;

Kara Grace, Sandy Hook; Ebonique O'delain Griffin, Louisville; Christin Elizabeth Hardy, Detroit; Kaleigh Nicole Hobbs, Indianapolis; Marilyn Holmes, Louisville; Sarah Nicole Jackson, Flemingsburg; Caleb Martes' Johnson, Owingsville; Kelcie Johnson, Maysville; Lawrence Jones, Mechanicsville, Virginia; Jorian Johnson, Troy, Ohio; John McGee, Louisville; Brianna McQueen, Jonesboro, Marvin McKinney, Xenia, Ohio; Xavier Moon, Goodwater, Alabama; Georgia; Angelica Miracle, Greenbush, Michigan; Keri O'Neal, Dalton, Georgia;

Candace Payne, Shelbyville; C.J. Phillips, Louisville; Brianna Rice, Louisville; Michaela Smith, Union; Vonicquia Smith, Louisville; Shayontae Spells, Salisbury, North Carolina; Justin Talbert, Lexington; Kayoncia Tate, Dyersburg, Tennessee; Armand Walker, Cincinnati; and Lexius Yarbrough, Louisville.

MSU Chief Photographer Tim Holbrook shares some of the scenes from Rites of Passage in a photo gallery.

Additional information about the ceremony is available by calling Shannon Colvin, student leadership and advocacy coordinator, at 606-783-2071 or by email to

Pictured above: First row, from left, Kelcie Johnson, Sydney Symone Boyd, Sarah Nicole Jackson, Danielle Nicole Burdette, Christin Elizabeth Hardy, Deion Ashley Dornal, Michaela Smith, Candace Payne, Kaleigh Nicole Hobbs, Ebonique O'delain Griffin and Lexius Yarbrough.

Second row, from left: Justin Talbert, Caleb Martes' Johnson, Marilyn Holmes, Angelica Miracle, Alexander Callahan, Brianna Rice, Tyler Dimarco Davis, Armand Walker, Ronnye Beamon Jr., Shayontae Spells, Kayoncia Tate and Keri O'Neal.

Third row, from left, John McGee, Brianna McQueen, Ivan Benitez, Zainab Maryam Anwar, Erika Cordle, Kara Grace, Vonicquia Smith, Jesus Daniel Carrerra Lopez, Ty'Quan Rashaad Bitting, Marvin McKinney, C.J. Phillips, Xavier Moon and Jorian Johnson.