Skip Menu
Email Us!

Craft Academy hosts ‘Go For Launch!’

Higher Orbits held its Go For Launch! Program at Morehead State University, July 23-27.

A total of 73 students took part in Go For Launch!, a four-day program that uses space exploration as a platform to launch student engagement in Science, Technology, Engineering, Art and Math (STEAM), while encouraging development of teamwork, communication and leadership skills.

The program presented by Higher Orbits is in partnership with MSU’s Craft Academy for Excellence in Science and Mathematics, Space Tango and Exomedicine Institute.

Students participating and hometown were:

Marissa Blair, Morehead; Leah Blevins, Catlettsburg; Alexa Brunson, Morehead; Sarah Bryant, Georgetown; Ella Campbell, Berea; Haley Conley, West Liberty; Morgan Daubard, Shepherdsville; Juleah Edie, Morehead; Laurel Embury, Lexington; Sydney Gordon, Lexington; Miranda Hahn, Mt. Washington; Megan Hudnall, Winchester; Lydia Hurt, Waco; Tamara Joy, Henderson; Veronica Kruth, Morehead; Kinley Lewis, Sandy Hook; Morgan Lewis, Liberty; Amelia Lowe, Louisville; Tesla Malphrus, Morehead;

Leea McRoberts, Flemingsburg; Logan Mingus, Louisville; Callie Mullins, Inez; Lillian Mullins, Versailles; Mclain Murphy, Paris; Lola Obielodan, Frankfort; Maiqi Qin, Salt Lick; Triniti Robinson, Walton; Caroline Schill, Berea; Kendall Staton, Russell; Rachel Toll, Shepherdsville; Samantha Williamson, West Liberty; Lenna Yong, Vine Grove; Austin Adams, Lawrenceburg; Zachary Bates, Independence; William Boone, Lexington; Jack Bradley,Prospect; Sadibou Ceesay, Berea; Caleb Collins, Fulton; John Hayden Cope III, Shelbyville; Christopher Davis, Paint Lick; Dakota Davis, Hillsboro;

Seth Fouts, Augusta; Davis Fritz, Walton; Garla Hithan, Frankfort; Jay Giannasio, Carlisle; William Gordon, Salvisa; Nodin Haight, Morehead; Tyler Hardin, Maysville; Brennan Ison, West Liberty; Lincoln Jacobs, Walton; Alden Kinney,Cincinnati; Willem Kruth, Morehead; Wesley Leggin, Lexington; Ian Lewis, Sandy Hook; Garrett Marshall, Paris; Alexander Masterson, Morehead; Caleb Matthews, Hardyville; Jacob Nickell, Wellington; Cormac O'Brien, Morehead; Finn O'Neill, Bardstown; Anish Penmecha, Frankfort;

Nicholas Sabot, Wurtland; Luke Seals, Berea; Blake Shepherd, Fort Mitchell; Ethan Tate, Louisville; Roman Tate, Louisville; Jordan Thacker, Whitaker; Canyon Thomas, Frankfort; Chinmay Tope, Frankfort; Egor Vinogradov, Lexington; Regan Warford, Hebron; James Weber,Frankfort; and Alex Wright, Berea.

Former space station flight controller and astronaut instructor Michelle Lucas and retired astronaut Don Thomas were the main instructors.

Lucas spent more than a decade working for NASA at Johnson Space Center in Houston before shifting her focus to education. Thomas became an astronaut in July 1991. He has served in the Safety, Operations Development, and Payloads branches of the Astronaut Office. From July 1999 to June 2000, he was director of operations for NASA at the Gagarin Cosmonaut Training Center in Star City, Russia. A veteran of four space flights, STS-65, STS-70, STS-83 and STS-94, he has logged more than 1,040 hours in space as a Mission Specialist.

Craft Academy for Excellence in Science and Mathematics personnel Jennifer Carter, Joshua Hardymon, Brenda Porter and Sunshine Stamper all helped in the event.

Campers worked on research projects during the day and had evenings full of unique activities.

Additional information is available by contacting Carter at 606-783-2093 or visit