Skip Menu

Blue and Gold Marching Band Championship set for Sept. 30

Morehead State University’s “Blue and Gold Championship of Marching Bands” will be held Sept. 30, at Jayne Stadium. The event will begin at 4:45 p.m. and features 13 high school bands from Ohio and Kentucky.

Nationally recognized marching band adjudicators will be used to evaluate the bands. These adjudicators include: Jeff Cannon from Terry, Miss.; Dr. Sean Kelley from Naperville, Ill.; Greg Mills from Cincinnati, Ohio; Dr. Brian Wolfe from Norman, Okla.; Dr. Mark Cole from Shelby, N.C.; Kathleen Buelow from Spring Hill, Fla.; Jonathan Smith from Ludlow and Shane Gwaltney from Smyrna, Tenn.

The bands will be evaluated for a Kentucky Music Educators Association sanctioned rating of distinguished, proficient, apprentice or novice and will compete for first, second and third place in class and overall outstanding auxiliary and percussion awards. The highest scoring band will be awarded the MSU Blue and Gold Grand Champion Award.

An annual highlight of the event is the performance of the MSU Marching Band. The MSU band’s performance of “Divas” will begin at 8:30 p.m. with the awards ceremony following. DuWayne Dale serves as the director of the MSU Marching Band and is assisted by Dr. Brian S. Mason, coordinator and arranger of MSU marching percussion, and Dr. Matthew Geiger, marching percussion director.

High school participating and performance times are:

Portsmouth West High School, 4:45 p.m.; Nicholas County High School, 5 p.m.; Williamstown High School, 5:15 p.m.;  Lewis County High School, 5:30 p.m.; Pike County Central High School, 5:45 p.m.; Estill County High School, 6 p.m.;

Rowan County Senior High School, 6:30 p.m.; Bourbon County  High School, 6:45 p.m.; Boyle County High School, 7 p.m.; Bullitt Central High School, 7:30 p.m.; West Jessamine High School, 7:45 p.m.; George Rogers Clark High School, 8 p.m.; and Atherton High School, 8:15 p.m.

General admission is $10 for adults and $5 for children. Children five and under are admitted free.

Additional information is available by contacting MSU’s Bands Office at 606-783-2486 or visit

For more information about music programs at MSU, visit

Event Schedule:

  • Portsmouth West High School – 4:45 p.m.

West Portsmouth, Ohio– Director Ryan Ervin

Show Title: “Paradise Reclaimed” featuring music selections: Exciled, Wandering, Asking Forgiveness, and Paradise Reclaimed

  • Nicholas County High School – 5:00 p.m.

Carlisle – Director Kendrick Applegate

Show Title: "The Asylum"

  • Williamstown High School – 5:15 p.m.

Williamstown – Director Chris Hedges

Show Title: "Enchantress" featuring music selections: The Sorcerer’s Apprentice, Hocus Pocus, I Put A Spell On You, Come Little Children, and The Third Vortex

  • Lewis County High School – 5:30 p.m.

Vanceburg – Director Matt Voiles

Show Title: "Along Come a Spider"

  • Pike Co. Central High School – 5:45 p.m.

Pikeville – Director Matt Moon           

Show Title: "The Glenn Miller Story: A 1940’s Radio Show"

  • Estill County High School – 6:00 p.m.

Irvine– Director Jason Bowles

Show Title: "The Black Death"

  • Rowan County Senior High School – 6:30 p.m.

Morehead – Director Jenny Hipple

Show Title: "Category Five"

  • Bourbon County High School – 6:45 p.m.

Paris – Director Eric Hale

Show Title: "PRICELE$$"

  • Boyle County High School – 7:00 p.m.

Danville – Director Matt Emerson

Show Title: "The Inner Voice"

  • Bullitt Central High School – 7:30 p.m.

Shepherdsville – Director Rodney Stults

Show Title: "Pick Something for Us"

  • West Jessamine High School – 7:45 p.m.

Nicholasville – Director Sean Piatt

Show Title: "Danse"

  • George Rogers Clark High School – 8:00 p.m.

Winchester, KY – Director Michael Payne

Show Title:  "Connections" featuring music selections: Hotspots, Electric Counterpoint, and The Lamplighter  

  • Atherton High School – 8:15 p.m.

Louisville – Director Matt Byrum

Show Title: "Rhapsody" featuring music selections: Libertango, Cloudburst, and Rhapsody in Blue

  • EXHIBITION: Morehead State University Marching Band – 8:30 p.m.

Morehead – Directors: Mr. DuWayne Dale, Dr. Brian S. Mason and Dr. Matthew Geiger

Show Title: Divas! Featuring music selections: End of Time, Hello, Shake it Off, Lady Marmalade, and Poker Face