Skip Menu
Email Us!

Ribbon cutting for “The Rock” slated for Nov. 9

Morehead State University President Dr. Joseph A. (Jay) Morgan and other University, state and local officials will host a ribbon cutting ceremony of the Rocky Adkins Dining Commons, Thursday, Nov. 9, at 1:30 p.m.

The event will be held at the main entrance of the dining commons.

The public is invited.

“The Rock” was built on the site of the former Waterfield Hall. The 25,000 square foot dining commons overlooks the central residential community. The project was designed by EOP Architects, Lexington.

The cost of it and the parking garage and dining complex was $22.8 million. The parking and dining facility is being funded from private funds and from student fees for housing, parking and dining services.

Rep. Adkins received his bachelor’s and master’s degrees from MSU.

In 1986, he was elected to serve in the Kentucky legislature. The Sandy Hook native served as the House Majority Floor Leader from 2003-16 and is currently serves as Minority Floor Leader.

Rep. Adkins was inducted into the MSU Alumni Hall of Fame in 2004 and named the recipient of the 2012 Founders Award for University Service. Adkins was the starting point guard on the 1982-83 OVC Champion Eagles basketball teams.

Additional information is available by calling 606-783-2033 or email