Skip Menu
Email Us!

Kentucky Visions at the Capitol features MSU professor

Gary Mesa-GaidoMorehead State University art professor Gary Mesa-Gaido is among 17 artists represented in the Kentucky Arts Council’s Kentucky Visions at the Capitol. The exhibit showcases the artwork in the halls, reception areas and conference rooms of Senate and House offices in the Capitol Annex in Frankfort.

Mesa-Gaido, a faculty member in the Department of Art and Design since 1992, teaches courses in digital art, animation, painting and foundations.

His creative productions focus on assembling large-scale panoramic photographs that are digital montages. Using digital equipment and a stitching construction technique, Mesa-Gaido records human activity within historical architectural spaces, such as plazas, courtyards, train stations, churches and museums. His method of documenting locations in a 180-degree rotation results in a unique panoramic view.

An active artist, Mesa-Gaido has participated in more than 100 exhibitions, including solo, two-person, and small and large group. His artwork has been supported through various grants and awards, including two prestigious Kentucky Arts Council Al Smith Fellowships and three MSU Creative Production Awards.

He earned his Bachelor of Arts degree from the University of Pittsburgh in Pennsylvania and a Master of Fine Arts degree from Ohio University.

“Visions is always a popular feature at the Capitol Annex this time of year. Legislators and legislative staff often comment that they enjoy seeing Kentucky art in the hallways surrounding their offices,” said Chris Cathers, arts council interim executive director. “It’s also a nice way to showcase the work being done by some of Kentucky’s best artists. They deserve the recognition, and this is one way we can honor them.”

The Kentucky Arts Council exhibit “Kentucky Visions at the Capitol” will be on display 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday, through April 6 at the Annex. The exhibit features 55 individual pieces by Kentucky Crafted artists, Al Smith Individual Artist Fellowship recipients and members of the adjudicated Architectural Directory.

Participating artists and home counties are:

Ann Stewart Anderson, Jefferson; Patricia Brock, Jefferson; Jennifer Dunham, Woodford; Bruce Frank, Scott; Timothy Gold, Kenton; Gary Graham, Fayette;  Suzy Hatcher, Jefferson; Shirley Jeter, Fayette; William Kolok, Daviess; Robert Love, Warren; Chao Ma, Fayette; Gena Mark, Fayette;  Kimberly Mahlbacher, Jefferson; Joanne Price, Shelby;  Judy Rosati, Jefferson; and Jason Sturgill, Fayette.

For more information about Kentucky Visions at the Capitol visit

For more information on MSU's Department of Art and Design, visit