Skip Menu
Email Us!

ETM hosts 21st Annual TSA Competition

Morehead State University’s Department of Engineering and Technology Management (ETM) hosted the 21st Annual Technology Student Association (TSA) competition on March 2.

More than 150 students and 12 faculty advisors from nine regional high schools and two middle schools attended the event. High schools included Ashland Paul Blazer, Bath County, Fleming County, Highland, Lewis County, Mason County, Morgan County, Rowan County Senior, Raceland-Worthington along with Morgan County and Raceland-Worthington middle schools.

The students participated in different events, most of which were based on the concepts which were covered in the students’ courses in engineering technology education. The purpose of this regional event is to prepare and evaluate the participating students' projects before going to the state competition. The competition allows the students to improve their projects for state competition based on the feedback they receive from ETM faculty and staff.

The EKTSA regional competition began with opening ceremonies conducted by student officers, Andrew Stepp, Rowan County Senior High School, president; Hunter West, Raceland-Worthington High School, vice president; Michael Allex, Fleming County High School, treasurer; Christian Fronk, Fleming County High School, secretary; Kevin Clark, Bath County High School, reporter; Marty Helms, Raceland-Worthington High School, sergeant-at-arms; and Austin Rankin, Bath County High School, historian.

After the opening ceremony, students dispersed to the Lloyd Cassity Building and Reed Hall to compete in different events. During the competitive events, students mingled with their friends and interacted with and received feedback from the ETM faculty. 

The Morgan County High School chapter had an impressive performance with 12 different awards including six-first place, four-second place, one-third place and one special event award. Bath County High School came in a close second with nine different awards including six-first place, one-second place, one-third place and one special event award. Fleming County High School students won five awards including four-first place and one-second place, while Highlands High School pulled in four awards including two-first place, one-second place and one-third place. Students from Mason County High School won three total awards: one-first place, one-second place, and one-third place while students from Raceland-Worthington High School received one-second place and one-third place award. Lewis County High School received one-first place award and Rowan County Senior High School finished with one third-place award. A competitive Ashland Paul Blazer team competed well but received no awards. Raceland-Worthington Middle School garnered nine awards in the middle school events including four-first place, three-second place and two-third place while Morgan County Middle School received two-first place awards.

The EKTSA regional student officers closed the regional competition by holding an awards ceremony and extending special thanks to Dr. Ahmad Zargari, Dr. William Grise, Dr. Steve Stubbs, Dr. Qingzhou Xu, Dr. Cheng Cheng and graduate students Jinming Wan, Linya Shu, Xiaotong Pang, Sareh Ahmadi, Tanner Kelsch, Lindsay Childs and student volunteers for hosting and judging the events.

The group also presented Awards of Excellence in the Advancement of Students in Technology Education to Mark Harrell, KYTSA Engineering Consultant director; Sam Mason, ETM instructor; and Jason Stepp, ETM lab and facilities manager.

Additional information is available by contacting Stepp at 606-783-9409.

More information on the Department of Engineering and Technology Management is available at

Pictured above: EKTSA regional student officers closed the regional competition by holding an awards ceremony.