Skip Menu
Email Us!

MSPR earns 16 Kentucky Associated Press Awards

MSPR-E.jpgMorehead State Public Radio (MSPR) staff and students took home a total of 16 awards at the Kentucky Associated Press Broadcasters (KAPB) competition held Saturday, April 14, in Louisville. The awards recognize the best in television and radio journalism in 2017.

The awards were announced for both professional and college entries.

The KAPB awards competition is designed to recognize Kentucky AP members and staffers for outstanding performance in broadcast journalism. The competition is open to all AP members in Kentucky and outside Kentucky with designated market areas that extend into Kentucky. To be eligible to enter, entries must be about news, features or sports that occurred solely in Kentucky. Entries must have been broadcast in calendar year 2017.

The KAPB college competition is designed to recognize Kentucky student broadcasters for outstanding performance in college broadcast journalism. The contest is open to any college in Kentucky. Entries must have been broadcast in calendar year 2017.

The AP is a not-for-profit news cooperative representing 1,400 newspapers and 5,000 broadcast stations in the United States.

Morehead State Public Radio (WMKY, 90.3FM) earned a total of 16 awards in the professional and college divisions including seven first place finishes.

“I’m extremely proud of our news team,” said Paul Hitchcock, MSPR general manager. “MSPR continues to be the gold standard in quality news reporting. To be recognized by our broadcast peers is a testament to their hard work and dedication.” 

Radio College Division:

  • 1st Place – Newscast, Jacob Lindberg and Bryan Courtney
  • 1st Place - Sports Coverage, Braxton Howard ("2017 Regional High School Football Preview")
  • 1st Place - Feature Story, Chas Jenkins ("Hogwarts Yule Ball")
  • 1st Place - Public Affairs, Samantha Morrill ("Deer Tick Concerns")
  • 2nd Place - Public Affairs, Arlo Barnette ("Crooked Creek Preserve")
  • 2nd Place - Sports Coverage, Tildon Johnson ("WMKY Sports")
  • 2nd Place - News Story, Sean Delaney ("Saudi Arabia Pulls Scholarships")
  • 2nd Place - Radio Reporter, Jacob Lindberg
  • 2nd Place – Newscast, Arlo Barnette
Radio Professional Division:
  • 1st Place - Long Newscast, Leeann Akers and Arlo Barnette ("Mountain Edition News")
  • 1st Place - Sports Reporting, Chuck Mraz ("WMKY Sports with Chuck Mraz")
  • 1st Place - Use of Sound, Leeann Akers ("Vivaldi's Gloria")
  • 2nd Place - Political Coverage, Leeann Akers ("Rowan County Clerk Race")
  • 2nd Place - Radio Anchor, Chuck Mraz
  • 2nd Place - Long Newscast, Chuck Mraz ("WMKY Morning News")
  • 2nd Place - Long Public Affairs, Chuck Mraz ("United Way of Northeast Kentucky")

Serving more than 20 counties throughout eastern Kentucky, Ohio and West Virginia, Morehead State Public Radio (WMKY) broadcasts at 90.3FM from the MSU campus.

Additional information can be found on MSPR’s website at

Pictured above, from left: Paul Hitchcock, Bryan Courtney, Tildon Johnson, Jacob Lindberg, Leeann Akers, Braxton Howard, Arlo Barnette and Chuck Mraz.