Skip Menu
Email Us!

Blakeman Memorial Scholarship awarded to four recipients

Blakeman-2018-May.jpgMorehead State University’s Office of Alumni Relations and Development has announced the 2018 spring recipients of the J.B. Blakeman Memorial Scholarship: Austin Alderson of Morehead, Donovan Cyrus of Ashland, James Frasure of Betsy Layne and Peyton Pugh of Hyden.

Alderson is a sophomore biomedical sciences/pre-physician assistant major. He was recognized for his service assisting with the J.B. Blakeman Memorial Golf Scramble. During winter break he served at the community soup kitchen, has helped pack backpack snacks for Gateway Helping Hands and was involved with both Homecoming and Say Boo to Drugs.

Cyrus is a senior mathematics major. He was named the 2017 MSU Homecoming King. Cyrus currently serves as Sigma Phi Epsilon Fraternity vice president of communications. He is a member of the Phi Sigma Pi honors fraternity and is a student director in the Office of Student Housing.

Frasure is a junior biomedical sciences/pre-pharmacy major. He was recognized for both his academic performance and contributing to the chapter, having served as intramural chair. A member of the biology and chemistry clubs, Frasure has participated in the Lockegee cleanup event.

Pugh is a junior biomedical chemistry/pre-pharmacy major. He currently serves as president of the KY Zeta Chapter of Sigma Phi Epsilon at MSU and attended the Carlson Leadership Academy in February. Pugh is a member of the Chemistry Club and also is a Delta Gamma Anchorman.

The scholarship was established in 2012 in memory of Jeffery Scott J.B. Blakeman. A graduate of Morehead State University with an industrial technology degree, he was a member of Sigma Phi Epsilon fraternity and a Chi Omega sorority big brother. As an avid outdoorsman, he enjoyed hunting, fishing and photographing wildlife. Blakeman loved golfing and was a member of the Eagle Trace Men’s Golf Association and was a proud supporter of Rowan County and Morehead State athletics.

He passed away in September 2011 at the age of 52.

With these awards, more than $15,000 in scholarship funds have been awarded through the J.B. Blakeman Memorial Scholarship fund. Even with the amount of scholarship awards that have been made, MSU has announced that a scholarship endowment has been established and will provide scholarship resources into the future.

In recognition of her service to the MSU community and her hard work establishing the scholarship fund, Vicki Blakeman was honored with the Volunteer of the Year award at SigEp’s Carlson Leadership Academy held in Atlanta. She was presented with her award at the spring J.B. Blakeman Scholarship awards ceremony held at MSU.

For more information on the scholarship, contact MSU’s Office of Alumni Relations and Development at 606-783-2033.

To learn more about scholarships at MSU, visit

Pictured above, from left: James Frasure, Katelyn Farler (Peyton Pugh's fiancée), Kennedy Blakeman, Vicki Collins Blakeman, Taylor Blakeman Barney, Austin Alderson and Donovan Cyrus.