Skip Menu
Email Us!

BOR approves phased retirements

Morehead State University’s Board of Regents met on Thursday, May 10, for a quarterly work session and a special meeting in the DeMoss Suite at the Center for Health, Education and Research.

During the special called meeting, MSU President Dr. Joseph A. (Jay) Morgan recommended and the Regents approved phased retirement contracts for 10 employees and dealt with matters relating to the future acquisition or sale of real property where publicity would be likely to affect the value of a specific piece of property to be acquired or sold.

The board recognized Natasha Davis, associate professor of dance; Terry White, Construction and Engineering Services director and student Allie Terrell of Morehead.

MSU’s Student Alumni Ambassadors (SAA) also were recognized and represented by Sydnee Bradley of Louisville, Bre Howell of Louisa and Ryan Steele of West Liberty. SAA is a group of 30 dedicated students that represent the University and serve as a link between current students and Alumni. SAA members serve as the official host group of the University and the Alumni Association and are active in the promoting Morehead State University.

With certain limitations, Kentucky Revised Statutes (KRS) allow retirees under the Kentucky Teacher’s Retirement System (KTRS) to be re-employed in a part-time capacity with the same organization from which they retired. This will also include faculty participants in the Optional Retirement Plan (ORP) provided they meet eligibility standards. The University will allow faculty to retire by providing part-time employment for teaching up to 12 hours per academic year at their current per credit hour salary. Accordingly, pursuant to University Administrative Regulation, Procedures for Phased Retirement Program (PRP) Morehead State University may provide qualifying faculty a phased retirement option.

Receiving one year of phased retirement were:

  • Dr. Mesghena Yasin, professor of economics.
  • Dr. Donna Kizzier, associate professor of information systems and business education.
  • Dr. Markham Schack, professor of education.
  • Dr. Deborah Plum, assistant professor of journalism.
  • Dr. Zexia Barnes, associate professor of chemistry.

Receiving two years of phased retirement were:

  • Dr. Wayne Willis, professor of education
  • Dr. Ric Caric, professor of international and interdisciplinary studies
  • Dr. Monica Magner, professor of health
  • Dr. Latonya Hesterberg, professor of social work
  • Dr. Michael Harford, professor of management.

The board also conducted a work session that honored former chair Paul C. Goodpaster and discussed reports from the Health Care and Facilities task forces.

The next quarterly meeting will be Thursday, June 7.

For more information, visit