Skip Menu
Email Us!

MSU Prestonsburg holds Celebration of Student Scholarship

Morehead State University at Prestonsburg’s Bachelor of Social Work program hosted its first Celebration of Student Scholarship on Monday, April 30. 

Seniors-E.jpgThe event highlighted research conducted by the MSU at Prestonsburg social work students under the direction of social work faculty Dr. Lisa Shannon and Deirdra Robinson, MSU at Prestonsburg social work program facilitator, during the spring semester.

“There were two goals for this event. First, we wanted to allow our students to display their work in a format used by most graduate schools and found at most professional conferences. Creating a research poster as an undergraduate will give these students a great advantage regardless of their future professional path,” said Robinson. “Second, we wanted to showcase the extensive community engagement of our students. This semester alone our BSW students on the Prestonsburg campus completed more than 10,600 service-learning hours in community agencies serving our region. Our students gain vital experiences while completing these hours that prepare them to take on the challenges facing our region. These posters reflect their dedication to the social work profession but more importantly, their passion to help make a difference.”

Juniors-E.jpgFaculty and staff from MSU, Big Sandy Community and Technical College and the public attended this event. 

More than 35 students displayed their research findings and community development projects. Those students included:

Alexis  Mills, Tomahawk; Alice Ratliff, Maytown; Amanda Collins, Prestonsburg; Amy Combs, Garrett; Andrea Davis, Salyersville; Ashley Honeycutt, Ulysses; Bonni Manns, Wayland; Carla Marshall, Salyersville; Cassandra Allen, Louisa; Coreen Hayes, Prestonsburg; Danna Mills, Tomahawk; Elizabeth DeHart, Hazard; Gabrielle Waddles, David; Hannelore Urban, Pikeville; Heather Ramey, Pikeville; Heather Gussler, Warfield;

Tamra Tackett, Dorton; Jessica Morey-Bailey, Pikeville; Johnna Little, Paintsville; Kim Hayden, Paintsville; Kristy Stewart, Pikeville; Meghan Dotson, Pikeville; Melissa Salisbury, Prestonsburg; Melissa Baker, Martin; Mollie Music, Prestonsburg; Morgan Haywood, Prestonsburg; Nick Bailey, Pikeville; Nicole Smith, Debord; Rachel Hall, McDowell; Sabrina Gibbs, Jackson; Shyanna Estep, Pikeville; Sidney Hale, Salyersville; Tammy Miller, Jackson; Tara Rowland, Paintsville; and Timothy Maynard, Inez.

The BSW program in Prestonsburg is currently taking applications for Fall 2018.  For additional information on the social work program, contact Robinson at 606-783-9226 or visit

Seniors (top) and juniors (bottom) in the social work program at MSU at Prestonsburg.