Skip Menu
Email Us!

Rites of Passage celebrated

Morehead State University’s Office of Student Activities, Inclusion and Leadership Development sponsored its 35th Rites of Passage recognition ceremony on Friday, May 11, in the Laughlin Health Building.

The purpose of the ceremony is to recognize and celebrate the scholastic achievement of minority and international students at MSU. Each student received a certificate, a gift and a special Kente stole.

Spring graduates who participated in the ceremony were:

Keyshawn Devonte Bell, Cincinnati; Erin Blaine, Washington, D.C., Shanae Brown, Frankfort; Shauntae Mychele Brown, Frankfort; Faith Carruthers, Louisville; Svea Carter, Louisville; Todd Dockery Jr., Hamilton, Ohio; Kellee Harvey, Ashland; Devon Hodge, Louisville; Te’a Johnson, Cincinnati; Jeffrey Charles Jones, Reynoldsburg, Ohio; Chelsea Paige O’Neal, Cincinnati; Ke' Shaun Edward Marzette, Louisville; Jaerica Meschele Overall, Georgetown;
Rochelle Payne, Louisville; Rian Pennman, Georgetown; Christian Lamar Robinson, Roswell, Georgia; Crystal Nicole Simmons, Madrid, Spain; LaCreese Caprice Smith, Chicago; Dominique St. Louis, Mt. Juliet, Tennessee; Darianne Seward, Columbus; Robert Dwayne Cornelius-Thomas, Winchester; David Van Tran, Brooklyn Park, Minnesota; Lalah Janee' Ware, Louisville; Chazmon Latrelle Warr, Louisville; and Jasmine Wilson, Pikeville.

The keynote speaker for the spring celebration was Marquez Young.

A two-time MSU graduate, Young earned his Bachelor of Business Administration degree in business administration and management and his Master of Arts degree in adult and higher education.

For almost two years, he was a senior enrollment services counselor for diversity at MSU. Last fall, he accepted an enrollment advisor position at Sinclair Community College in Dayton.

MSU Chief Photographer Tim Holbrook shares some of the scenes from “Rites of Passage” in a photo gallery.

Additional information about the ceremony is available by calling Shannon Colvin, associate director for programming, leadership and inclusion, at 606-783-2071 or email
Pictured above - spring graduates who participated in the Rites of Passage ceremony were: first row from left, Jaerica Meschele Overall, Rochelle Payne, Darianne Seward, Caprice Smith, David Van Tran, Chazmon Latrelle Warr, Jasmine Wilson, Shanae Brown and Faith Carruthers. Second row from left, Christian Lamar Robinson, Jeffrey Charles Jones, Chelsea Paige O’Neal, Rian Pennman, Erin Blaine, Crystal Nicole Simmons, Te’a Johnson, Chazmon Latrelle Warr, Dominique St. Louis and Shauntae Mychele Brown. Third row from left, Robert Dwayne Cornelius-Thomas, Ke' Shaun Edward Marzette, Todd Dockery Jr., Keyshawn Devonte Bell, Marquez Young, Devon Hodge, Svea Carter and Kellee Harvey.