Skip Menu
Email Us!

Morgan receives contract extension; Regents approve 2018-19 operating budget

photo: Kathy Walker, Rachael Malone, Shannon Harr and Paul GoodpasterMorehead State University's Board of Regents approved a one-year contract extension for President Joseph A. (Jay) Morgan and the $147.3 million operating budget during its quarterly meeting held Thursday, June 7.

Board Chair Kathy Walker made the motion to add an additional year to Morgan’s current contract, which will now run through 2022. 

The Board approved a $147.3 million operating budget – a decrease of $4.9 million or 3.2 percent – for the 2018-19 academic year. There will be no increase in student tuition or housing.

The University Service Award Committee recommended Dr. Frances Helphinstine for the 2018 Founders Award for University Service. Helphinstine first came to Morehead State as a student in 1959. After graduating from MSU, she became an instructor and faculty member with the Department of English, where she has served for the past 52 years. She earned a Ph.D. degree with specializations in Renaissance Literature and Dramatic Literature from Indiana University in Bloomington, Indiana, in 1978. She retired at the end of the 2018 spring semester.

The regents recognized outgoing board members Paul C. Goodpaster of Morehead, regent and past chair; Rachael Malone of Morehead, student regent; and Dr. Shannon Harr of Olive Hill, staff regent; for their service to the University.

The Board approved the naming of 19 spaces and furnishings in the Adron Doran University Center. In recognition of the commitment and enduring support MSU and scholarship aid for our students, it was recommended that names of the individuals and organizations be placed on the designated spaces in the renovated ADUC. This will honor their commitment to the University’s mission of educating students from Eastern Kentucky and beyond.
The regents approved the naming of the practice area at Eagle Trace Golf Course for Dr. Rex Chaney. Chaney was head golf coach at MSU for 35 years. Under his supervision the Eagles captured the 1977, 1981, 1993 and 1999 Ohio Valley Conference titles, earning him OVC Golf Coach of the Year honors for each of those seasons. The space will be called the Dr. Rex Chaney Golf Practice Pavilion.

The Board approved the fee schedule and personnel roster as well as ratified personnel actions, awarded degrees to the 2018 spring graduates, approved minimum scope of the annual audit, and accepted the third quarter financial report and amended operating budget.

The group approved policy on budget reserve financial policy audit, reappointment of the auditing firm and disposal of real property (Butler Hall).

The board authorized the president to extend tuition waivers and memberships to the Recreation and Wellness Center. In February, MSU determined it would offer all employees who responded to the voluntary reductions by June 30 the opportunity to take courses to be retrained or continue their education. Individuals voluntarily reducing or departing would be extended tuition waivers for three years and membership to the Recreation and Wellness Center would be extended for one year. These may be administered by the president and may be altered by the president in the best interest of the University.

The regents heard reports on 2018 final spring enrollment; personal service contracts; easements granted; the Kentucky Folk Art Center and a recap of Student Government Association activities for the academic year.
The Board approved promotions to professors: Chien-Chih Peng, finance; Elizabeth McLaren, education (ECESE); Mark Graves, English; Michael Fultz, biology; Thomas Pannuti, astrophysics and space science; Gina Gonzalez, kinesiology; Wilson Gonzalez-Espada, physics and science education; Teresa Ferguson, nursing; Jason Griffith, Librarian II; and Rodney Watkins, Librarian II.

The regents approved the granting of emeritus status to Mesghena Yasin, professor of economics; Janet McCoy, associate professor of communications and Center for Leadership and Professional Development director; Fran Helphinstine, professor of English; Jack Weir, professor of philosophy; and Dora Ahmadi, associate professor of mathematics.

The next quarterly meeting will be Thursday, Sept. 6.
Pictured above, from left: Kathy Walker, board chair; Rachael Malone, student regent; Dr. Shannon Harr, staff regent; and Paul Goodpaster, regent. The three outgoing members were recognized for their service.