Skip Menu
Email Us!

ARC and Gateway ADD directors visit MSU campus

Morehead State University has always been an institution that wanted to positively impact Eastern Kentucky and the entire Commonwealth. On Thursday, Morehead State welcomed esteemed guests with very similar goals. Dr. Ben Malphrus leads a tour of the Space Science Center.

MSU hosted Karen Fabiano, incoming program director at the Appalachian Regional Commission (ARC) and former ARC POWER Initiative manager, along with several Gateway Area Development District (ADD) directors from across the state Thursday afternoon. The directors came to campus to receive tours of the newly renovated Adron Doran University Center (ADUC), which is scheduled to open later this year, and the Space Science Center. 

Among the ADD guests in attendance were Amy Kennedy, Buffalo Trace ADD (Maysville); Sherry McDavid, FIVCO ADD (Grayson/Ashland area); David Duttlinger, Bluegrass ADD (Lexington); Whitney Chestnut, Cumberland Valley ADD (London); Darryl McGaha, Lake Cumberland ADD (Russell Springs); Michelle Allen, Kentucky River ADD (Hazard); Terry Trimble, Big Sandy ADD (Prestonsburg); Eric Sexton, Barren River ADD (Bowling Green); Joshua Farrow, Gateway ADD (Morehead); and Mike Miller, outgoing Kentucky River ADD (Hazard). 

Dr. Eric Jerde discusses the Space Science Center.The Appalachian Regional Commission is a regional economic development agency representing a partnership with federal, state and local government. It was established by a 1965 act of Congress and is composed of governors in 13 Appalachian states and a federal co-chair, who is appointed by the president. 

The Gateway Area Development District has served Bath, Menifee, Montgomery, Morgan and Rowan counties since 1969. This multi-county organization helps plan, promote and coordinate programs for regional economic and social development in eastern and central Kentucky. 

For more information on the ARC, visit To learn more about the Gateway Area Development District, go to
Pictured above right, Dr. Ben Malphrus, executive director of the Space Science Center, leads a tour of the facility.

Pictured above left, Dr. Eric Jerde, chair of the Department of Earth and Space Sciences, answers questions.