Skip Menu
Email Us!

MSU Eagles take home multiple KAS honors

mhoward.jpgMorehead State University has always been an ideal destination for students interested in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) due to its quality programs, incredible facilities and opportunities for hands-on learning. Some of MSU’s current students were rewarded for their scientific knowledge courtesy of the Kentucky Academy of Science (KAS).

KAS held its 2018 Annual Meeting from on Nov. 2 and 3 at Western Kentucky University in Bowling Green. Out of the more than 600 scientists and students that attended the meeting, hundreds of students from across the state’s regional colleges and universities participated in research competitions.

Among those hundreds of students, 12 Eagle students walked away with awards.  

First place winners:
  • Hannah Brewer – Oral Presentation – Science Education – Pine Ridge, Ky.
  •  Jeremiah Halter – Oral Presentation – Mathematics – Benton, Ky.
  • Madison Howard – Oral Presentation – Geology – Hazard, Ky.
  • Akira King – Oral Presentation – Engineering – Mt. Vernon, Ky.
  • Rebecca Mikula – Oral Presentation – Physics & Astronomy – Savannah, Mo.
  • Victoria Nash – Poster Presentation – Psychology – Florence, Ky.
aludwig-(1).jpgSecond place winners:  
  • Ethan Caudill – Oral Presentation - Mathematics – Lexington, Ky.
  • Casey Christian – Oral Presentation – Physics & Astronomy – Worthington, Ky.
  • Jonathan Eisenhour – Poster Presentation – Zoology – Morehead, Ky.
  • Mitchell Grothaus – Oral Presentation - Geology – Taylor Mill, Ky.
  • Katerina Winters – Oral Presentation – Engineering – Pleasureville, Ky. 
Third place winner:  
  • Allison Ludwig – Poster Presentation – Psychology – Louisville, Ky.
The Kentucky Academy of Science is a nonprofit organization. Founded in 1914, its mission is to foster scientific discovery and understanding in Kentucky.   

Morehead State University faculty, staff and students may become members of the Kentucky Academy of Science. For more information, contact Amanda Fuller at 859-227-2837 or

To learn more about MSU’s science programs, contact the College of Science at 606-783-2158, or visit
PHOTO CAPTION: Madison Howard (top) and Laison Ludwig (bottom) were among 12 Eagles to earn awards from the Kentucky Academy of Science during this year's annual meeting.