Skip Menu
Email Us!

Rites of Passage ceremony celebrated

Morehead State University’s Office of Student Activities, Inclusion and Leadership Development held its 36th Rites of Passage recognition ceremony on Friday in the Adron Doran University Center Ballroom.

The purpose of the ceremony is to recognize and celebrate the scholastic achievement of minority and international students at MSU. Each student received a certificate, a gift and a special Kente stole.

The Rites of Passage ceremony guest speaker was Dr. Daryl Privott. He is an assistant professor in the Department of Foundational & Graduate Studies in Education (FGSE) and teaches in MSU’s adult and higher education program. He also serves as director of MSU’s Faculty Center for Teaching and Learning. Privott holds a Ph.D. in Educational Leadership with an emphasis in Higher Education Administration from the University of Nevada-Las Vegas (UNLV), an MPA from UNLV and a Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy in Industrial Technology from East Carolina University. His research focuses on higher education administration, leadership, law and first-generation college student/graduates. He has presented at state, regional, national and international conferences and published articles in peer-reviewed journals. His chapter, “Getting Outside of My ‘Six Blocks’ with Bloom,” was recently published in the book Leaps of Faith – Stories from Working-Class Scholars.   

Fall graduates who participated in the ceremony were:    Tray Ashby-Phan (health promotion), Minneapolis, Minnesota; Patience Nichole Cannon-Warren (business management), Louisville; Jarrin Trey Higginbotham (exercise science), Liberty Township, Ohio; Rachel Pearl Jacobs (philosophy major, sociology minor), Hebron, Virginia; Jamie Alyce Phipps (psychology major, chemical dependency minor), Cincinnati; Darius DeShon Pritchett (sports management), Cincinnati; and Jumell Shaphan Wilson (technology management major, area of concentration in information systems), Valley Stream, New York.

Additional information about the ceremony is available by calling Shannon Colvin, associate director for programming, leadership and inclusion, at 606-783-2071 or emailing
Pictured above in the front row, from left to right, are: Tray Ashby-Phan, Patience Nicole Cannon-Warren, Rachel Pearl Jacobs and Jamie Alice Phipps. Back row, left to right: Jarin Trey Higginbotham, Darius Deshon Pritchett and Jummel Shaphan Wilson.