Skip Menu

Rogers Award winners announced

The winners of the 15th annual Judy Rogers Art/Media and Writing Contest were announced during a ceremony held Tuesday, April 23, in the Adron Doran University Center (ADUC).  

Each year, the Rogers contest accepts student submissions of poetry, prose, performance, video, digital artwork, photography, ceramics, sculpture and visual art. The goal is for the submissions to provide insight into gender issues, specifically women’s issues, within the context of American culture of the world at large. Cash prizes are awarded for the best performance/video art, poetry, prose and visual arts. 

The winners are:

  • Photography: Bethany Crouch, senior, art education (p-12), Sharpsburg. 
  • Painting: Alysa Coleman, freshman, strategic communication, Lake Station, Indiana. 
  • Poetry: Destiny Goins, junior, exercise science, Catlettsburg. 
  • Prose: Sara Finley, sophomore, convergent media, Pendleton.
  • Video: Luke Whitlock, junior, convergent media, Louisville.  

The Judy Rogers Award is named in honor of Dr. Judy R. Rogers, a retired professor of English at Morehead State.  Rogers also served as chairperson of the MSU Faculty Senate, associate vice president of academic affairs and dean of undergraduate programs from 1967 to 1997. 

The award is sponsored by the Caudill College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences, The Department of History, Philosophy, Politics, Global Studies and Legal Studies and the gender studies program. For more information on programs in the department, visit, email or call 606-783-2655.