Skip Menu

Student Choice Awards highlight excellency among faculty, staff and students

The Student Government Association’s (SGA) Student Choice Awards was held Wednesday, April 24, at 6 p.m. in the Adron Doran University Center Ballroom. This annual award banquet honors the work of the faculty, staff and students at Morehead State University. 

SGA President, Brandon Bryer said, "The Student Choice Awards has one main purpose and that is to recognize the amazing dedication, hard work and accomplishments of MSU students and MSU organizations. Morehead State is nothing without our students and SGA hosts the Student Choice Awards each year to showcase some of MSU's best and brightest.”  

Five awards— Faculty of the Year, Female Athlete of the Year, Male Athlete of the Year, Staff of the Year and Student of the Year— were all chosen through a ballot process as voted on by the student body. Voting was open to the student body from Monday, April 22 through Tuesday, April 23. The two awards, Resident Advisor of the Year and Student Director of the Year, were voted on by the campus Resident Advisors.  
The remaining awards were selected by a joint-committee of the SGA Student Life Committee and the SGA Campus Involvement Committee. Nomination forms were consulted to determine the winner of each category.   

Recipients of the 2019 Student Choice Awards are as follows:  
  • Campus Ministry of the Year: Baptist Campus Ministry 
  • Community Service Project of the Year: Delta Tau Delta’s Chili Cookoff 
  • Diversity Program of the Year: Holi Festival organized by Kayla Bowen from Hazard 
  • Emerging Leader of the Year: Emily Wiley from London 
  • Faculty of the Year: Dr. Christopher Beckham, instructor in foundational and graduate studies in education  
  • Female Athlete of the Year: Miranda Crockett from Martinsville, Virgina 
  • Male Athlete of the Year: Sayyid Kanu from Columbus, Ohio 
  • Outstanding Large Organization of the Year: Morehead State University 4 Paws 
  • Outstanding New Organization of the Year: Survivor Morehead 
  • Outstanding Small Organization of the Year: Morehead State University’s Spanish Club 
  • Outstanding Student Leader of the Year: Sydnee Bradley from Louisville 
  • Pre-Professional Organization of the Year: Student Affiliates of the American Chemical Society 
  • Resident Advisor of the Year: Lynlea Kiser from Paris 
  • Staff of the Year: Lora Hardwick Pace, director of first year programs 
  • Student Director of the Year: Katie Smith from Harlan  
  • Student of the Year: Madison Wallace from Frankfort 
At the event, 33 faculty and staff members were awarded the Apple Award for Educational Excellence.  Each of the SGA Senators selected a professor they believe has gone above and beyond in making the student experience the best it can be.  

Recipients of the 2019 Apple Awards for Educational Excellence are as follows:  
  • Elizabeth Ash, instructor of health and wellness 
  • Dr. Caroline Atkins, assistant to president for strategic initiatives 
  • Dr. Haiwook Choi, associate professor of CIS 
  • Becky Davison, instructor of social work 
  • Lenoard Dunman, assistant professor of legal studies 
  • Jeff Fannin, associate professor of imaging sciences  
  • Dr. Julia Finch, assistant professor of art history   
  • David Flora, director of distance education and instructional design  
  • Dr. Itza Zavala-Garrett, associate professor of Spanish  
  • Dr. Morgan Getchell, assistant professor of communication 
  • Dr. Lynn Geurin, associate professor of social work 
  • Dr. Kurt Gibbs, associate professor of biology 
  • Dr. Michael Harford, professor of management  
  • Paul Hicks, instructor of English   
  • Dr. Julia Hypes, associate professor of sports management 
  • Dr. Kouroush Jenab, assistant professor of engineering and technology management   
  • Wade Kerr, instructor of health and wellness 
  • Dr. Philip Krummrich, professor of comparative literature 
  • Dr. Sara Lindsey, associate professor of education 
  • Dr. James Masterson, associate professor of government   
  • Dr. Donell Murray, instructor of communications 
  • Dr. Daniel Nehring, instructor of management 
  • Dr. David Peyton, professor of biology 
  • Dr. Johnathan Pidluzny, associate professor of government  
  • Heather Porter, instructor of animal science 
  • Dr. Philip Prater, professor of veterinary technology  
  • David Spinks, lecturer 
  • Samuel Stapleton, instructor of management  
  • Dr. Vijay Subramanium, assistant professor of agribusiness 
  • Dr. Karen Taylor, associate professor of French 
  • Jane Tenyer, assistant director of programming and engagement  
  • Dr. Ilsun White, professor of psychology  
  • Dr. Wesley White, professor of psychology  
For additional information about SGA, visit, email or call 606-783-2071.  
Picture above, SGA leadership, from left, back row: Anna Gdovka, vice president for public relations, junior sport management major from Lexington; Colby Birkes, executive vice president, junior political science major and legal studies minor from Winchester; Brandon Bryer, president, senior political science major from Scarborough, Maine; and Andrew Sexton, vice president for campus involvement, junior psychology and Spanish double-major from Morehead. Front row, from left: Katie Smith, vice president for administration, junior business major from Harlan; Shannon Colvin, associate director of leadership, programming and inclusion and SGA advisor; and Santana Spradlin, vice president for finance, junior neuroscience major from Martin.