Skip Menu

Rites of Passage celebrated

Morehead State University’s Office of Student Activities, Inclusion and Leadership Development sponsored its 36th Rites of Passage recognition ceremony on Friday, May 10, in the Adron Doran University Center (ADUC). 

The purpose of the ceremony was to recognize and celebrate the scholastic achievement of minority and international students at MSU. Each student will receive a certificate, a gift and a special Kente stole. 

Spring graduates who participated in the ceremony were: 

  • Nekko Beal, Cincinnati 
  • Darius Jordan Boykin, Ironton, Ohio 
  • McKenzie Calvert, Schertz, Texas 
  • Georgia Crystal Campbell; Brampton, Ontario, Canada 
  • Miranda Dianne Crockett, Martinsville, Virginia 
  • Landie La’Mont Davis, Detroit, Michigan 
  • Jeremiah S. Draper, Fort Knox 
  • Brandyn Martin Duncan, Lexington 
  • Nicholas Flores, West New York, New Jersey 
  • Kiana Gilbert, Louisville 
  • Hannah Marie Gipson, Louisville 
  • Joshua Isaiah Hall, Hampton, Virginia 
  • Kellie Jernise Harris, Shelbyville 
  • Lamontray S. Harris, Louisville 
  • Sayyid Kanu, Columbus, Ohio 
  • Aliyah Jeune, Mount Holly, New Jersey 
  • Brittany Nicole McCoy, Louisville 
  • Logan Seth Wolfgang McLane, Georgetown 
  • Tierra McGowan, Chicago, Illinois 
  • Leighann S. Neal, Frankfort 
  • Robert De’Andre Sparks, Shelby, Mississippi 
  • Hassan Abdalla Suleiman, Louisville 
  • Christian DeAndre Thomas, Mt. Sterling 
  • Aaron T’Sai D’Jon Turk, Atlanta Georgia 
  • Johna Chanel Becknell Walker, Beattyville 
  • Stephon Terrell Williams, Paris 
  • Cierra Shapprell Wilson, Lexington 
  • Cuibing Wu, Wei County, Xingtai City, Hebei Province, China 

The keynote speaker for the spring celebration was Dr. Caroline Atkins. She is a visiting assistant professor of criminology and assistant to the president for strategic initiatives. She has been at MSU since July 2018 and serves as MSU’s chief diversity officer. Prior to this position, she served as a senior associate in academic affairs at the Council on Postsecondary Education. 

To view a photo gallery of the Rites of Passage ceremony, go to

Additional information about the ceremony is available by calling Shannon Colvin, associate director for programming, leadership and inclusion, at 606-783-2071 or emailing

Pictured above:

Front Row, from left: Leighann S. Neal, Kelli Jernise Harris, Hannah Marie Gipson, Ceirra Shapprell Wilson, Brittany Nicole McCoy, Miranda Dianne Crockett, McKenzie Calvert, Johna Chanel Becknell Walker and Nekko Beal.  

Second Row, from left: Christian DeAndre Thomas, Logan Seth Wolfgang McClane, Hassan Abdalla Suleiman, Nicholas Flores, Landie La’Mont Davis, Aaron T’Sai D’Jon Turk, Sayyid Kanu and Georgia Crystal Campbell. 

Back Row, from left: Stephon Terrell Williams, Cuibing Wu, Jeremiah S. Draper, Brandyn Martin Duncan, Lamontray S. Harris, Joshua Isaiah Hall, Robert De’Andre Sparks and Tierra McGowan.

Not pictured: Aliyah Jeune.