Skip Menu
Email Us!

Rites of Passage ceremony to be held

Morehead State University’s Office of Student Activities, Inclusion and Leadership Development will sponsor its 36th Rites of Passage recognition ceremony at 5:30 p.m. Friday, May 10, in the Adron Doran University Center in Ballrooms B and C. 

The purpose of the ceremony is to recognize and celebrate the scholastic achievement of minority and international students at MSU. Each student will receive a certificate, a gift and a special Kente stole. 

Students who will be recognized in the Rites of Passage ceremony for Spring 2019 include: 

  • Nekko Beal, Bachelor of Science in Exercise Science, Cincinnati, Ohio 
  • Darius Jordan Boykin, Bachelor of Business Administration in Finance, Ironton, Ohio 
  • McKenzie Calvert, Master of Arts in Wellness Promotion, Schertz, Texas 
  • Miranda Dianne Crockett, Bachelor of Arts in Convergent Media, Martinsville, Virginia 
  • Landie La’Mont Davis, Bachelor of Science in Engineering Technology – Mechanical and Manufacturing Engineering Technology, Detroit, Michigan 
  • Jeremiah S. Draper, Bachelor of Science in Exercise Science, Fort Knox 
  • Brandyn Martin Duncan, Bachelor of University Studies, Lexington 
  • Kiana Gilbert, Bachelor of Science in Psychology, Louisville 
  • Nicholas Flores, Bachelor of University Studies, West New York, New Jersey 
  • Joshua Isaiah Hall, Bachelor of University Studies, Hampton, Virginia 
  • Kellie Jernise Harris, Bachelor of Social Work, Shelbyville 
  • Sayyid Kanu, Associate of Applied Science in Radiologic Science, Columbus, Ohio 
  • Aliyah Jeune, Bachelor of University Studies, Mount Holly, New Jersey 
  • Logan Seth Wolfgang McLane, Bachelor of Science in Engineering Technology – Mechanical and Manufacturing, Georgetown 
  • Tierra McGowan, Bachelor of University Studies, Chicago, Illinois 
  • Leighann S. Neal, Bachelor of Arts in Legal Studies, Bachelor of Arts in Psychology, Frankfort 
  • Robert De’Andre Sparks, Doctor of Education - Educational Leadership, Shelby, Mississippi 
  • Hassan Abdalla Suleiman, Associate of Applied Science in Radiologic Science, Louisville 
  • Christian DeAndre Thomas, Bachelor of Arts in Community Support Services, Mt. Sterling 
  • Johna Chanel Becknell Walker, Bachelor of Science in Exercise Science, Beattyville 
  • Stephon Terrell Williams, Associate of Applied Science in Radiologic Science, Paris 
  • Cierra Shapprell Wilson, Bachelor of Social Work, Lexington 
  • Cuibing Wu, Master of Science in Engineering and Technology Management, Wei County, Xingtai City, Hebei Province, China 

Additional information about the ceremony is available by calling Shannon Colvin, associate director for programming, leadership and inclusion, at 606-783-2071 or emailing