Skip Menu

Senior Celebration held at MSU Prestonsburg

Morehead State University at Prestonsburg Bachelor of Social Work Program hosted its annual Senior Celebration Monday, May 6. Students were recognized for their hard work and dedication. Graduates were recognized, along with the Student Association of Social Workers-Prestonsburg (SASW) officers, students who were inducted into the Social Work Honor Society, and the Public Child Welfare Certification Program graduating students.  

 The ceremony culminated with the students taking the Social Work Oath.

“I am very proud of this group,” said Deirdra Robinson, MSU at Prestonsburg social work program facilitator. “Each one of these students has overcome many obstacles in their life to reach this point. I have no doubt that will be making a difference in the lives of many.”

Missy Baker was named the Outstanding Student for the MSU Prestonsburg Bachelor of Social Work Program.

Among MSU personnel attending were: Angela Blankenship, social work faculty; Jason Blanton, MSU Prestonsburg campus coordinator; Dr. Dan Connell, assistant vice president regional education and outreach; Becky Davison, social work program director; Dr. Lynn Geurin, associate professor of social work; Dr. Monica Himes, assistant professor of social work; and Deidra Robinson, social work program facilitator.

Members of the senior class are: Cassandra Allen of Louisa; Melissa Baker of Martin; Amy Combs of Wayland; Meghan Dotson of Pikeville; Sidney Hale of Royalton; Kimberly Michelle Hayden of Thelma; Johnna Brooke Little of East Point; Timothy Maynard of Pilgrim; Tara Lynn Rowland of Wittensville; Linsday Diana Stidham of Hindman; Morgan Shae Taylor of Prestonsburg; Hannelore Urban of Pikeville; and Gabrielle Waddles of David.

MSU at Prestonsburg provides educational and training opportunities for Floyd, Johnson, Magoffin, Martin and Pike counties. 

For additional information on the social work program, contact Robinson at 606-783-9226 or visit

Front row from left: Andrea Davis, Amy Combs, Tim Maynard, Gabby Waddles, Missy Baker, and Kim Hayden. Back row from left: Sidney Hale, Lindsay Stidham, Hannelore Urban, Johnna Little, Cassandra Allen, Morgan Taylor, Meghan Dotson and Tara Rowland