Skip Menu
Email Us!

Board of Regents holds quarterly meeting

The quarterly meeting of the Morehead State University Board of Regents was held Thursday, June 6, at 9:30 a.m., in room 329 of the Adron Doran University Center (ADUC).   

Prior to the meeting, there was a meeting of the audit committee at 9 a.m. The committee approved retaining the University’s external auditing firm and the minimal scope of the annual audit. The committee also heard a report from internal auditor Joe Hunsucker.  

Following the audit committee meeting, the full board meeting took place. President Jay Morgan and the board recognized Dr. Lisa Shannon, associate professor of social work; Barry Cox, HVAC technician; and Andrew Sexton of Clearfield, vice president for campus involvement for the Student Government Association (SGA), for their outstanding leadership, service and dedication to the University. Also recognized were outgoing board members, Faculty Regent Dr. Jonathan Pidluzny, associate professor of government, and Student Regent Brandon Bryer, outgoing Student Government Association president. 

The Board of Regents appointed Dr. Jacqueline Graves as secretary and reappointed Teresa Lindgren as treasurer. They voted to approve the University organizational chart and operating budget of approximately $140 million for the 2019-20 academic year. The regents also approved four faculty promotions to professor as well a one-time employee supplemental compensation. 

In other business, the board approved a one-year contract extension for President Joseph A. (Jay) Morgan. His contract will now run through 2023.

The next meeting of the Board of Regents is scheduled for Thursday, August 8, 2019.

For more information, visit 

Top photo: President Morgan recognized a faculty member, staff member and student at the meeting today. They are (from left): Andrew Sexton, vice president for campus involvement for SGA; Dr. Lisa Shannon, associate professor of social work; Barry Cox, HVAC technician; and Dr. Jay Morgan. 

Bottom photo: outgoing regents were recognized by the chair for their service at today’s meeting. Pictured, from left, Brandon Bryer, student regent; Kathy Walker, board chair; and Dr. Jonathan Pidluzny, faculty regent.