Skip Menu
Email Us!

Housing staff members win awards at state conference

Employees from Morehead State’s Office of Student Housing took home several awards at the 2019 Kentucky Association of Housing Officers (KAHO) statewide conference, Oct. 21-22, in Lexington.  

Marie Anderson, the Office of Student Housing’s secretary specialist, was awarded the 2019 KAHO Service Award. Selected annually by a member institution’s chief housing officer, the KAHO Service Award recognizes a staff member who has given outstanding service to the University. Anderson is the principal client service provider and oversees the students who staff the front desk. Her positivity and ethic of care are contagious and pervasive.

Presented to MSU Hall Director Anastasia Chaky, the Best in the Bluegrass Award recognizes the presentation at the conference that was the highest-rated via attendee evaluation from the dozens of sessions presented. Chaky presented on “True News: First Amendment Rights in the Residence Halls,” focusing on Constitutional rights and responsibilities in a residence hall setting. Because of this win, she will be presenting this session at the Southeastern Association of Housing Officers Annual Conference as the best educational program from the Commonwealth of Kentucky.

Lydia Clay, a senior fine arts and education major from Taylorsville, was awarded the 2019 Kentucky Association of Residence Halls (KARH) Student of the Year Award. This statewide award is given annually to the student who demonstrates exemplary leadership and contribution within the halls and to the KARH. Clay has served on the 2019 KARH Conference Host Committee, chairs the MSU Office of Student Housing Recognition Committee and oversees and facilitates the MSU Office of Student Housing National Association of College and University Residence Halls (NACURH) And the National Residence Hall Honorary (NRHH) of the month recognition program, which has garnered significant and unprecedented regional and national accomplishments for the office and the University.  

The winner of the Outstanding Resident Advisor Award was Micayla Gabrie, a senior middle grades education major from Taylorsville. Selected annually by a member institution’s chief housing officer, the Outstanding Resident Advisor Award recognizes an undergraduate student staff member who goes above and beyond the positional expectations to make a difference for their campus and residents. Gabrie, currently serving as a student director, assists with the building operations, staff development and administrative functions for Alumni Tower, Andrews Hall and Eagle Lake Apartments.

MSU Director of Housing and Residence Education, Alan Rucker, earned the 2019 Ruth Ann Howard Service Award. Named for a former MSU staff member, this annual award is the Commonwealth’s top honor for a housing professional and given annually to the professional who demonstrates outstanding service to the KAHO and their home institution. Through Rucker’s leadership, the Office of Student Housing has overseen significant organizational changes, earned numerous regional and national awards and recognitions, hosted two statewide residence life conferences and participated in the construction and opening of MSU’s newest residence hall in more than 40 years. As a member of the KAHO Governing Council, Rucker oversaw the relaunch of the KAHO website and new branding and logo initiatives, as well as successfully chairing the 2014 KAHO statewide conference on the MSU campus.  

For more information about MSU’s Office of Student Housing, visit, email or call 606-783-2060.
Photos, left to right: Marie Anderson, Anastacia Chaky, Lydia Clay, Micayla Gabrie and Alan Rucker.