Skip Menu
Email Us!

MSU Alumni Association elects new officers

The Morehead State University Alumni Association Board of Directors announced the election of new board leadership and members.   

Mona Sabie Womack (86) has been elected as the president of the MSU Alumni Association Board of Directors, while Billie Renee Johnson (96) was chosen as president-elect at the board’s virtual meeting this past May.  

Mona Womack PhotoWomack graduated from MSU in 1986 with a bachelor’s degree in biology and is the daughter of former MSU professors Drs. Mohammed and Layla Sabie. She later attended law school and currently serves as acting commissioner in the Public Protection Cabinet for Kentucky’s Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction for Kentucky. Womack first joined the Alumni Board of Directors in 2014.   

“Morehead State is very important to my family and me,” Womack said. “We have a long history with the institution, and I am truly honored to serve my alma mater in this capacity. I look forward to working with this devoted group of individuals as we represent MSU.”  

Johnson graduated in 1996 with a bachelor’s degree in sociology and now serves as executive director of State Grants. She previously served two terms on the board and was re-elected in 2018. 

Billie Johnson Picture“MSU is so special and it is such a privilege to serve on this board. I am honored to be chosen as president-elect,” Johnson said. “I am passionate about maintaining the alumni and MSU connection and am excited about the things we will accomplish.”  

In addition to president and president-elect, The MSU Alumni Association chose new board members. They include:  

  • Mike Miller (89), Ft. Mitchell, KY  
  • Jeff Rase (92, 99), Wheelersburg, OH  
  • Patrick Osborne (01, 02), Nashville, TN  
  • Randy Saunders (83), Westerville, OH  
  • Darianne Seward (18), Columbus, OH  
  • Breanna Howell (18), Louisa, KY  

Additionally, the board welcomed two new student representatives. Emily Wiley, an agribusiness major from London, Kentucky, is the president of the Student Government Association (SGA). Brooke Hardin, a global studies and legal studies major from Bardstown, Kentucky, is the president of the Student Alumni Ambassadors (SAA). They will represent their organizations, as well as current students, on the board.  

As part of their service to the board, MSU Alumni Association members seek to create and maintain strong connections between alumni and the university, host alumni events, select annual alumni award recipients, participate in quarterly meetings and more.  

To learn more about the MSU Alumni Association, contact MSU’s Office of Alumni Relations and Development at 606-783-2033, email or visit

Photo, upper right: ​Mona Sabie Womack (86) was elected president of the MSU Alumni Association Board of Directors. 

Photo, lower right: Billie Renee Johnson (96) was chosen as president-elect.