Skip Menu

MSU Board of Regents holds quarterly meeting

Shannon Colvin and Shari Kidwell PictureThe Morehead State University Board of Regents held its quarterly meeting on Thursday, June 17, 2021, in the Adron Doran University Center. 

The board voted to officially approve the 2021-22 University Operating Budget of $145,500,000, a Tuition & Fee Schedule, and Personnel Roster. The Tuition & Fee Schedule approval includes: 

  • 1.25% increase to undergraduate tuition for the next academic year 
  • Freeze on graduate tuition 
  • Freeze on housing rates 
  • A facility fee increase of $2.50 per credit hour 

Craig Dennis BOR Picture
In other action, the Board also approved a Faculty Compensation Plan to assist in alleviating salary inversion between tenure track faculty ranks, Athletic Coach Employment Extensions and the demolition of two single-family residences located at 419 East Main Street. After demolition, the sites will be graded out to drain and sowed with grass to create green space. The Audit Committee met and approved the Single Audit Report for fiscal year ended June 30, 2020, as presented by Dean Dorton Fred Ross and Adrian Swain BOR PictureAllen Ford, PLLC. 

The board also reviewed reports and presentations on Personal Service Contracts, University Fundraising, Strategic Branding and a report on Student Government Association activities from Regent Emily Wiley.  

President Jay Morgan and the board recognized Dr. Craig Dennis (Class of 1989, 1991, 1994) for service over the past three years as Staff Regent. Other years of service recognitions included faculty member Dr. Shari Kidwell, and MSU staff member Shannon Colvin.  

The board also acknowledged the generosity of Fred Ross and Adrian Swain for their financial contributions to the Soar to New Heights Scholarship Campaign. 

For more information, visit

Photo, top right (left to right): Associate Director of Student Activities Shannon Colvin (Class of 1989, 2003), Associate Professor of Psychology Dr. Shari Kidwell and MSU President Dr. Jay Morgan. 

Photo, center left (left to right):  MSU President Dr. Jay Morgan, outgoing Staff Regent Dr. Craig Dennis (Class of 1989, 1991, 1994) and Chair of the Board of Regents Eric E. Howard (Class of 1981). 

Photo, bottom right (left to right): Fred Ross (Class of 1967), Adrian Swain (Class of 1998, 2006) and MSU President Dr. Jay Morgan.