Skip Menu
Email Us!

Craft Academy welcomes class of 2023

The Craft Academy for Excellence in Science and Mathematics welcomed the class of 2023 to campus Sunday, Aug. 8. This is the largest incoming class in the Academy’s history.

Students moved into Grote-Thompson Hall and were inducted into the Academy in a ceremony held in the Adron Doran University Center (ADUC) ballrooms. Craft Academy Director Dr. Carol Christian and MSU President Dr. Jay Morgan addressed the students, and each received an induction pin and certificate.

The Craft Academy for Excellence in Science and Mathematics is a dual-credit academy for academically exceptional Kentucky students. Craft Academy provides students with a postsecondary residential experience to complete their junior and senior years of high school by enrolling in college courses. The Craft Academy's purpose is to meet the unique educational needs of academically gifted and talented high school juniors and seniors in the Commonwealth. The academic rigor of the Craft Academy challenges students to excel at their highest level through project-based STEM+X courses and hands-on learning experiences, with emphasis on innovation, design and creativity, and civic and regional engagement.

For more information, visit, email or call 606-783-2093.
View Flickr Gallery
Photo Caption: Pictured above is the Craft Academy Class of 2023. Front row, from left to right: Caroline Fish of Boone County, Jillian Wallshield of Jefferson County, Allison Hall of Pendleton County, Taylor Horsfall of Fayette County, Mahathi Siripurapu of Fayette County, Bethany Lucio of Franklin County, Faith Carney of Bullitt County, Cai Helms of Boyd County, Madison Ford of Fayette County, Riley Hicks of Floyd County, Abigail Grzynkowicz of Anderson County and Hannah Barrett of Lee County.

Second row, left to right: Camryn Banbel of Morgan County, Chloe Gallagher of Pendleton County, Sydney Sebastian of Owsley County, Abigayle Caldwell of Lawrence County, Megan Pennington of Elliott County, Lauren Bordeaux of Mercer County, Hannah Stanley of Kenton County, Alexa Cunningham of Oldham County, Kelsey Sowders of Franklin County and Naomi Wiegand of Oldham County.

Third row, left to right: Logan Lee of Lewis County, Raul Sierra of Anderson County, Khloe Schwaniger of Franklin County, Hayley Milner of Boone County, Kirston Kelley of Estill County, Kayla Hanvey of Bourbon County, Kendall Mayes of Greenup County, Kaylee Bow of Knox County and Hanah Whisenant of Lawrence County.

Fourth row, left to right: Alyssa Patel of Bullitt County, Sarah Robinson of Spencer County, Lauren Beasley of Montgomery County, Kiera Fehr of Fayette County, Muriel Tipton of Montgomery County, Brenya Allred of Calloway County, Autumn Davidson of Owsley County, Sara Hassan of Rowan County, Harrison Adkins of Rowan County, Laci Davis of Harrison County, Bryce Watkins of Bourbon County and  Landon Hodge of Fayette County.

Fifth row, left to right: Savannah Reed of Daviess County, Alyssa Turner of Pendleton County, Sagar Patel of Knox County, Brianna Kayatin of Breathitt County, Andrew Dorn of Boone County, Victoria Pintha of Pendleton County, Ava Ashley of Franklin County, Mallory Baker of Oldham County, Canyon Thomas of Franklin County, Ezrie Justice of Perry County, Alexander Neal of Fayette County, Anakin Slone of Johnson County and  Joshua Day of Jessamine County.

Sixth row, left to right: Bailey Bullock of Rockcastle County, Jude Hall of Pendleton County, Braden Bickers of Campbell County, LeBraun Hamilton of Hart County, Taylor Fryman of Harrison County, Derek Gill of Powell County, James Bandy of Meade County, Shawn Nelson of Jefferson County, Paul Brooks of Henry County, Sawyer Putnam of Garrard County, Kaleb Trent of Perry County and Miles Saunders of Bath County.

Seventh row, left to right: Cameron Perry of Harrison County, Levi Shoemaker of Rowan County, Curtis Bair of  Carter County, Brady Sammons of Carter County and Jacob Winkler of Estill County.