Skip Menu
Email Us!

Board of Regents, audit committee met March 31

Morehead State University's Board of Regents held its quarterly meeting Thursday, March 31, at 9:30 a.m. in room 329 of the Adron Doran University Center, following a meeting of the Audit Committee.

The Audit Committee accepted the 2020-21 NCAA Agreed Upon Procedures Report and the WMKY audit. The committee also approved the reappointment of the University's auditing firm and the audit price and the scope of the annual fiscal year audit. Committee members also heard a report on the status of current audits from Internal Auditor Joe Hunsucker. 

The Board of Regents recognized donors, faculty, staff, and students following the audit committee.
Retirees and long-time MSU supporters Dr. Sue Luckey and her late husband, Dr. George “Mac” Luckey, were recognized for their commitment to MSU and the Morehead community. After Mac’s death, Sue created the Dr. George M. Luckey Honors Student Enrichment Endowment for students in the honors program and the Dr. Sue Y. Luckey Scholarship for Business, which provides scholarship support to students studying in the College of Business.

Donors Drs. Kay and Kent Freeland (also a retiree), two lifelong teachers and administrators in public schools and higher education institutions, were recognized for their generosity to MSU. The Freeland Education Scholarship provides an annual award to an aspiring student.

The board also recognized the national award-winning MSU Cheerleading squads. This spring the coed squad won the program's 28th Division I national championship. The all-girl partner stunt team of Frankie Capilets, Sydney Sturgill, Haley Whitacre and Paige Ernst also won a national championship. The Morehead State cheer program has now won 50 national championships since the first competition in 1988.
Also recognized were faculty, staff and students in MSU’s Space Science Center. Later this spring, a satellite, Lunar IceCube, will be launched as a secondary payload on the Artemis I mission. The Lunar IceCube team includes several faculty and staff members of the Space Science Center and more than 50 current and former students at Morehead State.  
The board selected Madonna Weathers (Class of 1971, 1972, 1982), a long-time staff member who spent more than four decades serving students at MSU as this year's recipient of the Founders Award for University Service.   

A native of Louisville, Weathers came to Morehead State University as a student and completed a Bachelor of Arts in Education in 1971, a Master of Arts in Education in 1972 and a Master of Arts in Higher Education in 1982. She worked at MSU for 44 years, retiring as vice president for student life in 2016. 

The board reviewed audit information, approved personnel actions, and faculty tenure promotion. An ad-hoc committee was created to review the board bylaws.  

The board voted on several recommendations, including the 2022-23 tuition, mandatory fees and housing rates, acceptance of the second quarter financial report and ratification of the amended operating budget. The board also approved employee compensation, extension of the University's banking services contract with US Bank, delegation of the University's optional retirement plan, and demolition of a residential structure.

University President Dr. Jay Morgan presented a legislative update and a report on the University's 100/135-year celebration. Vice President for Fiscal Services Mary Fister-Tucker gave a presentation on University debt refinancing and Vice President for University Advancement Rick Hesterberg gave a report on the University website redesign project   

The board also re-elected Eric Howard to a second term as chair and Sanford Holbrook as vice-chair. Jane Fitzpatrick will serve as secretary and Mary Fister-Tucker was appointed treasurer. 

The next quarterly Board of Regents meeting is Thursday, June 16. 

For more information, visit
Top - From left: MSU President Dr. Jay Morgan; Mindy Highley, assistant vice president for alumni relations and development; Dr. Sue Luckey; Dr. Kay Freeland; and Dr. Kent Freeland.

Middle - MSU Cheerleading squad and MSU President Dr. Jay Morgan (far left), and Head Coach Mark Coleman, back row, second from left.

Bottom - Front row, left to right: Dr. Ben Malphrus, executive director of the Space Science Center and professor of space science; Chloe Hart, ground station engineer/operator; and Dr. Pamela Clark, space systems engineer and director of the Star Theater. Back row, left to right: MSU President Dr. Jay Morgan; Emily Mattle, ground station engineer/operator; Dr. Elijah Jensen, visiting assistant professor of space systems engineering; Ryan Collins, ground station engineer/operator; and Emily Walter, missions operations engineer/spacecraft operator.