Skip Menu
Email Us!

MSU Student Government Association announces 2022-23 executive officers

Morehead State University's Student Government Association (SGA) elected executive officers for the 2022-23 academic year.  

Three separate interrelated bodies comprise SGA: the Executive Branch, the Legislative Branch and the Judicial Branch. The Executive Branch consists of six elected officers who serve on the Executive Board. Elections occur during the spring semester.  

Chloe Marstiller - President  

Chloe Marstiller is a sociology major from Morgantown, West Virginia. She has previously served as an SGA at-large senator from 2020-21 and the vice president of finance from 2021-22. She is also a member of Gamma Phi Beta sorority, Student Alumni Ambassadors, MSU 4 Paws and works as a resident advisor.  

Kelton Crank - Executive Vice President  

Kelton Crank is a healthcare management major from Pikeville. He previously served as an at-large senator, commuter senator and the chief of staff for the SGA. Crank is also a Kentucky Rural Health Association member and AHEC Scholar.  

Carmen Vazquez - Vice President for Public Relations  

Carmen Vazquez is a double major in psychology and sociology from Nicholasville. She is a member of Delta Zeta Sorority. She served as an at-large senator for the SGA during the 2021-22 academic year.  

Presley Boyer - Vice President for Campus Involvement  

Presley Boyer is a biomedical science major from Louisa. She has served as an SGA at-large senator from 2020-21 and the vice president of campus involvement from 2021-22. She is also currently a member of MSU 4 Paws, the Pre-Med Club and worked as a peer leader during the 2021-22 academic year.  

Austin Wagner - Vice President for Finance  

Austin Wagner is an accounting major from Elliott County. He previously served SGA as the College of Business senator for the 2021-22 academic year. In addition to his time at SGA, Wagner also served as a pledge trainer for the service fraternity Alpha Phi Omega, an FYS peer leader for several classes. He has worked with Student Outreach Services to help facilitate the 2021 MSU Governor's Scholars and Upward Bound programs.  

Tess Ruehrmund - Vice President for Administration  

Tess Ruehrmund is a nursing and Spanish double-major from Cardington, Ohio. She is a Gamma Phi Beta sorority member and has previously served as an at-large senator for the SGA during the 2021-22 academic year.  

Marstiller said SGA outlined several broad goals for how to best serve the MSU campus student community for the 2022-23 academic year:  

  • Contribute to the increase of general campus involvement through hosting events such as Fall Festival and Student Choice Awards, continuing and improving our Student Organization Funding system, and helping other organizations put on/promote their events.  
  • Contribute to health, academic and environmental resources by putting more money into the Student Health Fund, creating a new environmental initiative, finding a needed academic resource to provide for students and spreading awareness about mental health resources.  
  • Promote diversity and inclusion (D&I) by collaborating with the Eagle Diversity Education Center, utilizing our D&I Committee to address issues on campus and hosting at least one related initiative per semester.  
  • Expand partnerships with local businesses and MSU entities to provide students with discounts and keep the list of locations in Morehead that provide students with discounts updated regularly.  
  • Advocate through taking select members to the annual Rally for Higher Ed at the Capitol in Frankfort in February and providing students with regular updates from the Kentucky Board of Student Body Presidents and the Kentucky Council for Post-Secondary Education.  
  • Improve internal and external relations by doing more things to increase SGA awareness through tabling, social media and events while creating an open senate application for vacancies, maintaining regular office hours throughout the year to make ourselves more widely available and increasing our general social media outreach.  

"Being a part of SGA is a very rewarding experience. From things as big as getting bells in the Little Bell Tower to as small as showing students where their classes are, we are all so happy to help out however we can," Marstiller said. "I've been a member for three years now and every year, this organization has helped me grow so much as a person. I wouldn't be the person I am today if I never took the jump of running for the student senate my freshman year, and I'm positive the rest of our Executive Board can say the same."  

To learn more about SGA, contact or 606-783-2071. 


Photo: MSU’s Student Government Association elected executive officers for the 2022-23 academic year. 

Front row, left to right: Presley Boyer, Vice President for Campus Involvement; Carmen Vazquez, Vice President for Public Relations; Tess Ruehrmond, Vice President for Administration. 

Back row, left to right: Chloe Marstiller, President; Kelton Crank, Executive Vice President; Austin Wagner, Vice President for Finance. 

Contact Us