Skip Menu
Email Us!

Molly McBride's memory continues through scholarship endowment   

embedded-news-mcbride-molly.webpAfter the passing of Molly C. McBride, Molly's parents, Dr. Scott McBride and Jill McBride, created a scholarship fund through the Morehead State University Foundation to honor her legacy. Thanks to the support of a host of family and friends, the Molly C. McBride Memorial Scholarship Endowment has received over $57,000 in contributions since its inception.  

Molly's parents and the MSU Foundation created the scholarship a decade ago to honor Molly's life, which ended at 21 after an automobile accident on May 18, 2013. At the time of her passing, she was a junior biomedical sciences major at MSU and was planning for a career as a physician’s assistant. Molly was a dedicated student who enjoyed helping others, primarily through her work as a tutor in MSU's Tutoring and Learning Center.  

To ensure Molly's legacy continues through the lives of other MSU Eagles, her mother, Jill, encourages others to consider making a memorial gift in Molly's memory. Jill has pledged $5,000 as a matching gift, hoping to grow the fund by $10,000 in honor of this 10-year milestone.  

"Giving back in Molly's memory is something that brings me joy," Jill said. "I love learning about the students who are receiving the scholarship, and I hope that this scholarship assists them along their journey. The more we can grow the endowment, the more students we will be able to support, and I can't think of a better way to continue to remember Molly."  

The scholarship is for seniors majoring in biomedical sciences or agricultural sciences. Since its inception, the fund has supported nine students. This year, two recipients received the scholarship. Emily Hammonds, a senior from Morehead and Mollee Flannigan, a senior from Lewis County. Both recipients are majoring in biomedical sciences with a pre-med track. 

Past recipients include: 

  • 2014-15: Samuel Hudson  
  • 2015-16: Kevin Cummins  
  • 2016-17: Darian Lewis  
  • 2017-18: Toni Carter 
  • 2018-19: Kassidy Cyrus  
  • 2020-21: Brittany Brewer 
  • 2021-22: Emily Wiley  

Additionally, the endowment provides funding for the Molly McBride Tutoring Excellence Award. This award is given annually to a tutor who demonstrates superior tutoring skills and caring for MSU students. This year's recipient is Emily McCreary, a junior from Catlettsburg majoring in elementary education with a minor in music. 

Past recipients include:   

  • 2014: Taylor Gasser  
  • 2015: Yen Tran-Spring 
  • 2016: Abbi Leigh Chandler 
  • 2017: Shelby Price 
  • 2019: Sarah Young 
  • 2020: Elizabeth Burke 
  • 2022: Mercy Hailu 

To make a gift in Molly’s memory, visit

For more information on this scholarship, contact MSU's Office of Alumni Relations and Development at 606-783-2033, email or visit

Contact Us